Indiana State University Newsroom

Smith and Collins recognized for their service to ISU

May 5, 2023

As another Board of Trustees meeting concludes, the Board unanimously adopted two resolutions to honor the services of Kimberly J. Oliphant-Smith and Kimberly G. Collins.

Both members' terms end in 2023.

Dr. Deborah Curtis, ISU’s President: "The Board of Trustees work is fundamental to the success of our University. Trustee Kimberly Smith and Student Trustee Kimberly Collins have been critical members of this important body at ISU. Both embody what it means to be leaders and proud Sycamores. I'm grateful for their service to our wonderful campus and wish them the very best in their future endeavors."

Smith was appointed to the Indiana State University Board of Trustees in 2015 and currently chairs its Finance Committee. She has served as vice chair, assistant secretary, and secretary during her three terms. A Linton native and a 1977 Magna Cum Laude graduate of ISU, she earned her law degree from the Indiana University School of Law in Indianapolis. Her career began as a claims attorney in Indianapolis before joining the Indiana Farmers Mutual Insurance company as the vice president of human resources and general counsel. Her work ethic and dedication took her to titles of senior vice president, executive vice president, and in 2014, a promotion to president and CEO.

She is involved with the Scott College of Business- Department of Insurance and Risk Management. 

This resolution recognizes Smith's valuable service to her Trustee colleagues and her roles in the development of the University.

Serving as Student Trustee, Collins joined the Board in 2021. In one term, she has displayed exemplary leadership, enthusiasm, and interest in University activities. A lifelong Terre Haute native, Collins graduated with a marketing degree and is actively pursuing a master's degree in communication at ISU. She embodies what it means to be a Sycamore as a leader to her campus and community. During her time at Indiana State University, Collins was awarded a President's Scholarship, and Networks Scholarship, was the founding president of the Student Philanthropy Organization, and helped raise money for Riley Hospital for Children through the State Dance Marathon.

The Board's resolution expresses its grateful recognition, high commendation, and best wishes to Collins for her service. 

 Board members are appointed by the Governor of Indiana. As the appointment process continues, ISU will release more information when it becomes available.