Indiana State University Newsroom

Hines Memorial Medal recipients announced

April 24, 2023


Nineteen graduating seniors have been named as the 2023 Hines Memorial Medal winners.

This award, named after Indiana State University’s fourth president from 1921-1933, Linnaeus Hines, is given to students who entered ISU as first-time college freshmen and are completing their bachelor’s degrees with the highest cumulative grade point average.

‘It’s always a pleasure to honor the great work of the Hines medalists,” Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs Chris Olsen said. ‘When I think about all the hard work, late nights, and all-nighters that went into such sustained academic excellence, I am amazed and so proud of these students. It means they always did the work, even in classes that might not have been their “favorite.” That sort of sustained dedication will serve the students so well no matter where their careers take them. They certainly make all of us very grateful to have them as Sycamores.’

The medalists are:

Morgan Grace Adams from Wheatfield, IN. Music Education major.

Sarah Renae Anderson from Argenta, IL. Mathematics major.

Alyssa Ellen Carpenter from Bloomington, IN. Elementary Education major.

Om Bimal Dalal from Terre Haute, IN. Biology major.

Megan L. Heck from Brazil, IN. Accounting and Finance majors.

Victoria Morgan Jean Hey from Spencer, IN. Communication Sciences and Disorders major

Amy L. Jassman from Mahomet, IL. Applied Medicine major.

Allison Kell, Terre Haute, IN. Applied Medicine major.

Elisabeth Belle Kerby from Paoli, IN. Communication Sciences and Disorders major.

Kyle Parker Koch from Yorkville, IL. Finance and Financial Services major.

Sydney Kremer from Terre Haute, IN. Professional Aviation Flight Technology and Aviation Management majors.

Luke J. LaFevor from Mitchell, IN. Mathematics Teaching major.

Adalyn G. McMurray from Washington, IN. Psychology major.

Franko Gilbert Teston from Harrisburg, IL. Psychology major.

Danielle B. Voges from Terre Haute, IN. Psychology major.

Nathan R. Walden from Southaven, MS. Cybercriminology and Security Studies major.

Kristin Reneé Wentz from Noblesville, IN. Theater major.

Will M. Wortman from Teutopolis, IL. English Teaching major.

 Samara Lynn Young from Reelsville, IN. Physical Education major.


Group photo of the winners