Indiana State University Newsroom

ISU will award degrees to 684 students in two Winter Commencement programs

December 9, 2021

Indiana State University will celebrate the accomplishments of 684 students during graduate and undergraduate Winter Commencement ceremonies tonight and Saturday at the Hulman Center.

ISU will confer degrees on 188 graduate students at 6 p.m. today and 496 degrees for undergraduates at noon Saturday.

Graduates and guests will wear masks and be socially distanced during the ceremonies. The alumni speakers will appear on video and the student speakers will deliver their remarks in person. ISU President Dr. Deborah J. Curtis will make her speech in person.

The graduate alumni speaker, Michael Rady, has been with PepsiCo for 14 years and currently works in Orlando, Florida, supporting sales, manufacturing, marketing, and strategy. Rady has two degrees from ISU, a bachelor’s degree in Political Science (1995) and a master’s degree in Public Administration (1998).

The graduate student speaker, Polina Kaniuka, is from Cherkasy, Ukraine. She is receiving a Ph.D. in Higher Education Administration with a specialization in Leadership and Higher Education. She has a master’s degree from ISU in Teaching English as a Second Language / Language Studies.

The undergraduate alumni speaker, Shannon Anderson, is the co-founder and Chief Operating Officer of SmileML, which uses computer emotion recognition to help people be understood and understand others during meetings and face-to-face interactions.

Anderson graduated with honors from ISU in 2017 and holds a bachelor’s degree in Operations and Supply Chain Management with a minor in French.

The undergraduate student speaker, Chloe Elise O’Sullivan, is from Terre Haute. She majored in Human Resource Development with a minor in Civic Leadership. After working for a time in human resources, she plans to return to ISU to earn a master’s degree in Human Resource Development.

Media contacts: 

Mark Alesia, Director of University Communication 

(O) 812-237-3837 

(C) 812-229-8020

Dianne Powell, Associate Director of University Communication

(O) 812-237-8764

(C) 812-878-2131