Indiana State University Newsroom

ISU trustees pass $174 million budget for 2021-22

June 17, 2021

Indiana State University’s Board of Trustees on Friday approved a $174 million budget for the 2021-22 academic year.

The board also approved tuition rates and mandatory fees for 2021-22 and 2022-23.

The 1.4 percent increases are below the three-year compound annual growth rate of the Consumer Price Index for the Midwest Region. The CPI measures the change in prices of consumer goods and services.

ISU’s tuition and mandatory fees for in-state students will increase by $66 per semester in 2021-22 and $67 per semester in 2022-23. Total tuition and mandatory fees for in-state students will be $9,598 in 2021-22 and $9,732 in 2022-23. That is the lowest in the state for four-year public universities with a statewide mission.

“We’re pleased to present a balanced budget while continuing Indiana State University’s history of affordable tuition and high-quality education,” ISU President Dr. Deborah J. Curtis said.

Also during the meeting, the board:

--Heard Curtis describe ISU’s vaccination policy. The university will not mandate vaccination, but it continues to strongly encourage everyone to be vaccinated. ISU will ask students and employees to voluntarily provide proof of vaccination online, starting around July 1 for employees and August 1 for students.

--Approved a $1 million gift to name the Dr. Kenneth L. and Theresa Kathryn (Klein) Smith Magna Carta Courtroom on the second floor of the Federal Building. (See separate news release.)

--Approved changes designed to streamline the admissions process for transfer students.

--Voted to reflect changes in Indiana law allowing for trustees’ electronic participation in board meetings.

--Passed resolutions honoring outgoing trustees Edward A. Pease, Jeffrey W. Taylor, and Casey J. Phillips.

--Voted to make Kathy Cabello chair; Kim Smith vice chair; and Bob Casey secretary. The board appointed Diann McKee, ISU’s Senior Vice President for Finance and Administration, as treasurer.

Media contacts: 

Mark Alesia, Director of University Communication 

(O) 812-237-3837 

(C) 812-229-8020

Dianne Powell, Associate Director of University Communication

(O) 812-237-8764

(C) 812-878-2131