Indiana State University Newsroom

Qihao Weng selected as fellow of American Association for the Advancement of Science

November 26, 2019

WASHINGTON, D.C. -- Qihao Weng of Indiana State University has been named a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

Election as an AAAS fellow is an honor bestowed upon AAAS members by their peers.
Weng was selected for his distinguished contributions to environmental geography, particularly for furthering understanding of urban environments and urbanization impacts through developing innovative methods and techniques of remote sensing.

This year, 443 members were awarded this honor by AAAS because of their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications. They will be formally announced in the AAAS News & Notes section of the journal Science on Nov. 29.

A faculty member since 2001, Weng joined Indiana State after working briefly at the University of Alabama and obtaining his Ph.D. at the University of Georgia. He currently serves as a professor in the department of earth and environmental systems and has served as director of Indiana State Center for Urban and Environmental Change since 2004. He worked as a senior fellow at the NASA Marshall Space Flight Center, December 2008-2009.

Weng has made significant and pioneering contributions in the field of geography, and his extensive publication record includes books, book chapters and articles in prestigious journals. He serves as an editor-in-chief of the ISPRS Journal of Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing and the editor of two important book series, Taylor and Francis Series in Remote Sensing Applications and Taylor and Francis Series in Imaging Science.

The tradition of AAAS fellows began in 1874. Currently, members can be considered for the rank of fellow if nominated by the steering groups of the association's 24 sections, or by any three fellows who are current AAAS members (so long as two of the three sponsors are not affiliated with the nominee's institution) or by the AAAS chief executive officer. Fellows must have been continuous members of AAAS for four years by the end of the calendar year in which they are elected. The AAAS fellow honor comes with an expectation that recipients maintain the highest standards of professional ethics and scientific integrity.

Each steering group reviews the nominations of individuals within its respective section and a final list is forwarded to the AAAS Council, which votes on the aggregate list. The council is the policymaking body of the association, chaired by the AAAS president, and consisting of the members of the board of directors, the retiring section chairs, delegates from each electorate and each regional division, and two delegates from the National Association of Academies of Science.

AAAS encourages its sections and council to consider diversity among those nominated and selected as fellows, in keeping with the association's commitment to diversity, equity and inclusion.

Weng's pioneering works have generated enormous citations and attracted thousands of followers worldwide. He is the author of 234 articles and 14 books and has given 110 invited talks and presented 131 papers at professional conferences. According to Google Scholar, as of November 2019, his SCI citation has surpassed 17,700, with H-index of 60. Many of his publications were extremely influential, which is visible, for example, from the fact that 41 of them have more than 100 citations each.

In 2008, Weng received a prestigious NASA senior fellowship. He received the Outstanding Contributions Award in Remote Sensing from the American Association of Geographers in 2011, as well as the Willard and Ruby S. Miller Award in 2015. In 2019, he was given a Taylor & Francis Lifetime Achievements Award and was awarded a fellowship to conduct research in Japan as part of the Japan Society for the Promotion of Science (JSPS).

In 2005 at Indiana State, he was selected as a Lilly Foundation Faculty Fellow, and the following year, he received the Theodore Dreiser Distinguished Research Award. In addition, he was the recipient of 2010 Erdas Award for Best Scientific Paper in Remote Sensing (first place) and 1999 Robert E. Altenhofen Memorial Scholarship Award, which were both awarded by American Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing. He was also awarded the Best Student-Authored Paper Award by International Geographic Information Foundation in 1998.

AAAS is the world's largest general scientific society and publisher of the journal Science, as well as Science Translational Medicine; Science Signaling; a digital, open-access journal, Science Advances; Science Immunology; and Science Robotics. The organization was founded in 1848 and includes more than 250 affiliated societies and academies of science, serving 10 million individuals. Science has the largest paid circulation of any peer-reviewed general science journal in the world. The nonprofit AAAS is open to all and fulfills its mission to "advance science and serve society" through initiatives in science policy, international programs, science education, public engagement and more.

For more information about AAAS, go to


Photo: -- Qihao Weng

Media contact: Tiffany Lohwater, American Association for the Advancement of Science, 202-326-8737 or

Story Highlights

Weng was selected for his distinguished contributions to environmental geography, particularly for furthering understanding of urban environments and urbanization impacts through developing innovative methods and techniques of remote sensing.

See Also:

Student receives medal for leadership, scholarship, and service

Indiana State professors co-author study on climate impact in East Africa

Students talk up Indiana State University to lawmakers at ISU Day at Statehouse

$1 million gift will create endowed professorship of insurance

Rich schedule of events planned for Black History Month at ISU

ISU geology student will present her research on Capitol Hill