Indiana State University Newsroom

Donors recognized at March On! banquet

August 30, 2018

The Indiana State University Foundation recognized philanthropy to the university at the March On! Awards event on Aug. 24.

"Our honorees are true Sycamores who have given their time, their talents and their treasures to support Indiana State," said Deborah Curtis, president of the university. "Your generosity improves access for students, provides students with incredible experiences such as studying abroad, prepares students for their future careers by funding professional development programs, internships and other experiences, provides our programs with a margin of excellence. You are changing the paths they will take, the quality of life their will experience and the impact they will have on others and their communities."

University donors recognized during the evening were recipients of the John P. Newton Spirit of ISU Award, Sponsorship Patron Award, Board Leader Award, as well as the 1865 Society and Book and Torch Society inductees.

The annually presented March On! Award is the most prestigious award presented by the ISU Foundation and honors transformational philanthropy to Indiana State. This year's recipients, selected by the ISU Foundation board's development committee, include Todd A. Osburn and Caroline C. Howe and Robert L. and Corrine L. Cowden.

Named for the foundation's first comprehensive campaign, March On! The Campaign for Indiana State University, the award signifies the important role of alumni, friends and corporate partners in ensuring Indiana State's growth and success.

"There are people in this room that are quietly changing the world," said Doug Smith, interim vice president of development and CEO of the ISU Foundation. "Whether it be a scholarship for a young person or a fellowship for a student to broaden their learning experience or to a creating a lab where new advances are being made in cellular biology, these simple acts of philanthropy not only advance Indiana State University, but also play a seminal role in defining us as a caring, compassionate community that is making significant contributions to our state, our nation and the world."

John P. Newton Spirit of ISU Award

James H. Hartman received the 2018 John P. Newton Spirit of ISU Award. Established in 2010, the award honors Newton's longstanding career as the vice president of alumni and constituent relations and his contributions to advance alumni engagement at Indiana State. This recognition continues to honor alumni who, like Newton, show a deep connection to their alma mater and go above and beyond for the university.

1865 Society

New members were also inducted into the 1865 Society, honoring those individuals who understand the importance of providing for the future of Indiana State. This society recognizes individuals who have included Indiana State in their financial estate planning by leaving an impactful legacy.2018 inductees are:

Jerald W. and Jo GoldsmithLisa M. HammillMichael H. and Carol J. HannaStephen Kash

Sponsorship Award

The Sponsorship Award was presented to Refreshment Services PEPSI. The award was established this year to show appreciation for the partnerships companies create with the university and its students.

Board Leader in Philanthropy

The Board Leader in Philanthropy award was presented to B. Curtis Wilkinson Jr. The award was created this year to honor the dedication of a foundation board member to furthering the university. It is presented to a Board member that promotes the mission and core values of Indiana State University Foundation with exemplary use of their resources.

2018 Book and Torch Society

New members of the Book and Torch Society were recognized for their dedication to the growth and success of the university. Honoring Indiana State philanthropists for lifetime giving to the institution, the donors are inducted at the Knowledge, Inspiration and Truth levels.

The charter members of this elite society were first recognized by the foundation in 2007. Since then, the Book and Torch Society has grown to more than 1,000 donors, including those dating back to the inception of the university.

The 2018 Book and Torch Society inductees include:

Knowledge Level ($100,000 - $499,999):Robert R. and Joan M. BrownJanet McCarthySullivan AutomotiveBruce J. and Connie L. McLarenJohn T. and Marilyn A. Thyen



Writer and media contact: Betsy Simon, media relations assistant director, University Marketing, Indiana State University, 812-237-7972 or

Story Highlights

University donors recognized during the evening were recipients of the John P. Newton Spirit of ISU Award, Sponsorship Patron Award, Board Leader Award, as well as the 1865 Society and Book and Torch Society inductees.

See Also:

Sycamores keep momentum going in classroom during 2018-19 academic year

Indiana State Speaker Series announces 2019-20 season lineup

Networks students’ service project takes aim at sexual assault

State receives STARS silver rating for sustainability efforts

More than 2,200 graduate from Indiana State

SAT, ACT scores no longer required for admission to State