Indiana State University Newsroom

Indiana Principal Leadership Institute selects principals for sixth cohort

July 22, 2018

The Indiana Principal Leadership Institute at Indiana State University's Bayh College of Education welcomed 49 principals for the kickoff to the program's sixth cohort July 10-12.

The Indiana Principal Leadership Institute is a two-year experience designed to address the professional needs of Indiana public school principals with an emphasis on student success. The institute will increase a principal's capacity to address the current needs of her/his school, such as effective instruction, student performance, community involvement and shaping a strong school culture.

In addition to the targeted work with each cohort, IPLI is committed to serving as a resource for all Indiana principals, their schools and their school communities. This includes sharing research, providing access to leadership assessments and offering tools to develop action research plans. IPLI's website,, serves as the clearinghouse for this information.

Cohort No. 6 is being advised by 11 trained mentors. These mentors are experienced Indiana school leaders, and they will play a key role in guiding smaller regional focus-cohorts in their areas of the state.

The sixth cohort includes:

• Tracy Ahlbrand of Lydia Middleton Elementary

• Holly Arnold of Elberfeld Elementary

• Angileah Bark of West Vigo Elementary School

• Donna Biggs of Crichfield Elementary School

• Tom Black of East Central High School

• Phil Boone of Southwood Elementary School

• Richard Brown of Otterbein Elementary School

• Franklyn Bush of Lawrence Central High School

• Nancy Campbell of Prosser Career Education Center

• Michael Chen of Woodland Elementary

• Kirsten Clark of Clinton Prairie Jr. Sr. High School

• Jennifer Coyle of Meredith Nicholson Elementary

• Katy Eastes of New Palestine Elementary

• Dean Fecher of Success Academy

• Jody French of Perry Central Jr. Sr. High School

• Marci Galinowski of Mollie B. Hoover Elementary

• Chris Gearlds of Decatur Elementary Learning Center Blue Academy

• Michelle Ginkins of New Albany High School

• Erica Glenn of Carrie Gosch Early Learning Center

• Doug Gresham of Castle High School

• Sarah Gustin of Delphi Community Middle School

• Ashley Hammond of Fountain Central Jr. Sr. High School

• Jayme Herbert of Greendale Middle School

• James Hough of Triton Central Elementary School

• Thomas Hughes of Maple Crest STEM Middle School

• Wendy Ivey of Greenville Elementary

• Jan Kehrt of Harris Elementary

• Jerome Lahlou of Forest Glen Elementary School

• Elizabeth Markward of Crestdale Elementary School

• Adam McDaniel of Fairview Elementary School

• Andrew McDaniel of Southwood Jr. Sr. High School

• Robby Morgan of Wolf Lake Elementary

• Anna Murphy of New Haven High School

• Rhonda Myers of Prairie View Elementary

• Kim Nguyen of Wawasee High School

• Erin Proskey of Culver Elementary School

• Haley Ringwald of Ouabache Elementary School

• Jen Sass of New Prairie High School

• Karalyn Skinner of Attica Jr. Sr. High School

• Craig Smith of Center Grove Middle School Central

• Steve Snodgrass of New Haven Intermediate School

• Dawn Sonsini of Northeastern Middle School

• Justin Stok of Charter School of the Dunes

• Brad Stoneking of Batesville Primary School

• Jennifer Teare of Brooklyn Elementary

• Veronica Tobon of Valparaiso High School

• Chad Whitehead of Huntingburg Elementary School

• Rob Willman of Floyd Central High School

• Kelly Wright of Pettit Park Elementary

To learn more about the Indiana Principal Leadership Institute, go to


Media contact: Libby Roerig, director of communications and media relations, Office of Communications and Marketing, Indiana State University, 812-237-3790 or