Indiana State University Newsroom

University police honored by First Financial

May 11, 2017

The Indiana State University Police Department's best gathered for a recognition and commendation dinner on April 27 in the Magna Carta Room of Federal Hall.

The ninth biennial event was sponsored by First Financial Bank.

"Norm Lowery, our president and CEO, applauds law enforcement for their dedication to a job that can be both difficult and dangerous," said Terry Tevlin, vice president of marketing at First Financial. "It's a privilege for the bank to help honor the officers for their service."

Awards presented include:

• Recipients of the Police Star Award are Assistant Chief Michele Barrett, Lts. Tamara McCollough and David Smith, Capt. Ian Loomis, Sgts. Brent Denny, Brenda Edington, Wendell McCollough and Jacque Smith, Cpls. Joshua Clifford and Daniel Parmer, Officers David Barber, Jeff Bucklin, Thierno Diallo, Michael Eldred, Jordan Gentry, Christopher Heleine, Samuel Might, Andrew Piske, Austin Wolfe and Craig Wright, Dispatch Coordinator Gloria Ighile, Communications Officers Andrew Gonthier, Corey Kempton, Sara Loudermilk, Hanna Mills and Emily Rigdon and Chief's Assistant Tammy Hurst.

• The Life Saving Award was presented to Sgt. Brenda Edington, Cpls. Joshua Clifford and Daniel Parmer, Officers David Barber, Michael Eldred and Craig Wright.

On Nov. 10, 2015, Edington, Eldred and Officer Thierno Diallo helped save a student who had attempted suicide.

On Jan. 16, 2015, Edington and Clifford provided lifesaving measures to a man in cardiac arrest.

On March 31, 2016, Parmer cleared the airway of an infant who was choking.

On Oct. 1, 2016, Barber and Wright provided lifesaving measures to a woman who had been struck by a vehicle.

• Jala Bennie, a student employee with the university's Office of Residential Life, was honored with the Civilian Award for her assistance with a significant criminal investigation in 2016.

• Tim Cottom, the assistant director of the university's telecommunications department, and First Financial Bank received the Chief of Police Award.

Cottom was recognized for his help with Indiana State's vast network of security camera systems. First Financial was recognized for graciously hosting the awards event for the past 18 years.

"Today's campus police are called upon to play a variety of roles beyond routine law enforcement duties," Diann McKee, senior vice president of finance and administration and treasurer for Indiana State. "I have witnessed firsthand the care and concern the ISU Police Department extends to our students while ensuring the safety of campus. This event, sponsored by First Financial Bank, is a wonderful opportunity to recognize the dedication and service of our law enforcement professionals."


Media contact: Libby Roerig, director of communications and media relations, Office of Communications and Marketing, Indiana State University, 812-237-3790 or