Indiana State University Newsroom

President’s Concert to feature university’s finest musicians

January 17, 2017

A dozen of the best and brightest musicians from Indiana State University's School of Music will present the President's Concert at 2 p.m. Jan. 29 in the recital hall of the Landini Center for Performing and Fine Arts.

This year's concert represents a wide variety of music from classical through contemporary eras, as well as musical theater, by composers such as Handel, Schubert, Brahms, Bartok and Richard Rogers.

The students were selected to participate based on last semester's outstanding performances in each area of study and include:

• Nancy Bernal, a senior music education major from St. John on horn;

• Percussionist Tyler Blaisdell, a freshman music education major from Greenfield;

• Jonathan Coleman, a junior music performance major from Trafalgar on piano;

• Ricardo Gil, a sophomore music performance major from Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic on flute;

• Baritone Ross Hanson, a freshman music education major from Evansville;

• Soprano Katelyn Kendall, a sophomore music education major from Holland;

• Patrick Meyer, a senior music education major from Indianapolis on trombone;

• Heather Scott, a senior music education major from Valparaiso on clarinet;

• Mezzo-soprano Laura Sprouls, a junior music education major from Newport;

• Jon Treadway, a freshman music performance major from Austin on piano;

• Tenor Logan Williams, a senior vocal performance major from Bloomfield;

• Joseph Woerner, a junior music business major from Kokomo on guitar.

The concert is free and open to the public. A reception provided by the President's Office will immediately follow the performances.

For more information, call the School of Music at 812-237-2771.


Photo: -- The musicians to perform at the 2017 President's Concert are pictured.

Media Contact: Libby Roerig, director of communications, Office of Communications and Marketing, Indiana State University, 812-237-3790 or