Indiana State University Newsroom

Hines, President’s Medal recipients announced for winter commencement

November 12, 2015

Indiana State University will recognize two graduating seniors for their achievements in leadership, scholarship and service during winter commencement ceremonies.

Mitchell Wasmund of Avon received the Hines Medal, which goes to the student or students with the highest cumulative grade point average during the pursuit of a bachelor's degree. The medal is named for Linnaeus Hines, was the university's fourth president and also served two terms as Indiana superintendent of public instruction. Jordan Gillenwater of Bloomfield has received the President's Medal for Leadership, Scholarship and Service.

A President's Scholar, Wasmund is graduating with a bachelor's degree in finance. His plans are to work in corporate finance while taking classes at Indiana State toward a second degree in accounting. His other honors at Indiana State have included being named Landini Outstanding Junior of the Year and being selected as a finalist for Outstanding Senior of the Year.His campus Involvement has included the Networks Professional Development Program, Investment Club and Honors Council. His community activities include serving at the Children's Museum of Terre Haute, participating in the "Go Figure" program, Stop and Serve, Donaghy Day and volunteering for Gleaner's Food Bank and Terre Haute's Blues at the Crossroads Festival.

Wasmund's parents are Mark and Gina Wasmund. He is a graduate of Avon High School.

A President's Scholar, Rural Health Scholar and Susan M. Bareford Scholar, Gillenwater is completing a bachelor's degree in language studies. Having completed the pre-medicine program at Indiana State, she will attending the Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine in Auburn, Ala. with a goal of practicing in primary care medicine.

While at Indiana State, she served as president of the university's Panhellenic Association and the Gamma Omicron chapter of Delta Gamma women's fraternity. She was also active in the University Honors Program, Alpha Lambda Delta and Order of Omega honors societies and the American Chemical Society. She was also involved in outreach for the university's Distinctive Programs initiative.

Gillenwater's community activities include volunteering at the Wabash Valley Health Center (formerly St. Ann Clinic), participating in the Honors Program Navajo Nation service trip, serving as a Big Brothers/Big Sisters mentor, performing philanthropic activities for Delta Gamma's Service for Sight program and volunteering as a Spanish teacher at Ouabache Elementary School.

Her awards, in addition to her scholarships, included the Mary P. Holmstedt Award, Spanish Achievement Award and Fraternity and sorority Life Women's Emerging Leader Award.A graduate of Bloomfield High School, Gillenwater is the daughter of Jeanne Gee and Brad Gillenwater.

Indiana State's winter commencement is scheduled for Dec. 12 at noon at Hulman Center, with the processional of graduates beginning at 11:45 a.m. The event is open to the public and tickets are not required for admission. The ceremonies will also be streamed live at

Photo: - Mitchell Wasmund

Photo: - Jordan Gillenwater

Writer: Dave Taylor, media relations director, Office of Communications and Marketing, Indiana State University, 812-237-3743 or