Indiana State University Newsroom

Indiana team recognized at Million Women Mentors Summit

October 5, 2015

The Indiana team returned from the inaugural Million Women Mentors Summit in Washington, D.C. recognition with some recognition for its efforts.

Indiana's delegation joined that from Tennessee in receiving State Steering Committee awards for its efforts to partner mentors with women in the science, technology, engineering and mathematics fields.

"This award helps to corroborate the strength of Indiana's team in building collaborations to advance this mentoring movement," said Bev Bitzegaio, director of outreach and student career services in Indiana State University's College of Technology and co-chair of the Indiana committee. "It is an honor to serve this group of leaders who are dedicated to increasing diversity and enhancing the quality of STEM skills in Indiana's future workforce."

Co-chair Mary McGuire of Carmel, an Indiana State technology alumna, said, "I am honored and humbled to receive this award from MWM for the Indiana Team. I spent my entire career in engineering and operation positions, so I know how important mentoring is for women in STEM fields. Indiana has a great steering team and I am looking forward to getting more women, men and students involved in MWM."

McGuire also serves on the ISU Foundation board and is co-chair of the College of Technology Advisory Board.

As part of the three-year Million Women Mentors campaign, The Indiana steering committee is working to identify existing science, technology, engineering and math programs with mentoring programs for the "Be Counted" campaigns and to connect existing programs with companies and organizations sharing similar goals. It is also promoting different post-secondary mentoring models than be replicated by other educational institutions, developing a partnership plan with Girl Scouts of Indiana and is identifying a process to connect mentors with mentee organizations and recruiting individuals and organizations to pledge on the Million Women Mentors site.

Indiana Lt. Gov. Sue Ellsperman, honorary chair of the state's steering committee, joined her counterparts from Tennessee and Iowa in receiving State Honorary Chair Awards at the summit while the Movement Building Award went to the National Girls Collaborative Project, whose state leaders include Bitzegaio.

Launched just last January, the Million Women Mentors campaign already has commitments from more than 350,000 mentors in 34 states.

Anyone interested in joining the Million Women Mentors movement can pledge their commitment at

Photo: - Members of the Million Women Mentors Indiana Steering Committee stand with their award Sept. 21, 2015. From left: Cathy Ritchie, Mary McGuire, Bev Bitzegaio and Reginald McGregor.

Contact: Bev Bitzegaio, co-chair, Indiana Steering Committee, Million Women Mentors and director of outreach and student career services, College of Technology, Indiana State University, 812-237-3575 or

Writer: Dave Taylor, media relations director, Office of Communications and Marketing, Indiana State University, 812-237-3743 or