Indiana State University Newsroom

Indiana State students win 17 awards from Indiana Collegiate Press Association

April 24, 2015

Indiana State University students from the Indiana Statesman and The Sycamore yearbook won 17 awards in the annual Indiana Collegiate Press Association competition."I'm thrilled with the Indiana Statesman's showing in this year's ICPA competition," said Martha Milner, director of student publications. "The Statesman is in the Newspaper 1 category for newspapers that print three or more times each week. This category includes some of the best student newspapers in not only the state, but in the nation."

Seven winners were chosen from the Statesman including two first-place winners, three second-place winners and two third-place winners.

Alex Modesitt received a first-place award in Best Opinion Column and also a third-place award in Best Sports Column. Rob Lafary also won a first-place award in Best Sports. Kylie Adkins won a second-place award in Best Opinion Column. Carey Ford won a second-place award for Best Entertainment Story.

A staff member won a second-place award in Best Staff Editorial. Kristi Sanders won a third-place award in Best Continuous Coverage.

"The Statesman staff work hard all year to produce a student newspaper that publishes quality news, sports, features and opinion for its readers," Milner said.

"This is the highest number of awards that the Statesman advertising staff has won in the past three years. It is gratifying to see their work recognized on a statewide level."

Four third-place winners were also chosen from the Statesman in the advertising department.

Jennifer Walkobinger won Best Ad Design for a Special Section. Josh Lewis won Best Design Full Color. Rodney Black won two awards in Best House Ad and Best Display Ad.

Six third-place winners were chosen from the 2014 school yearbook, The Sycamore.

The entire Sycamore staff won for Best Execution of Theme and Best Overall Design. Andrew Jones won Best Sports Spread. Esther Perisho and Jon Garcia won Best Student Life Spread. Jon Garcia also won awards in Best News Photography and Best News Photography.

"I am pleased that the first Sycamore yearbook that Indiana State University students have produced in more than 20 years placed in the ICPA 2015 competition," Milner said. "They have established a book that should continue for years to come."

Indiana Collegiate Press Association members include 33 college and universities throughout the state. The association's board of directors consists of faculty advisers and student representatives from the universities. Along with the competition, the association has an annual convention that features speakers and workshop leaders from throughout the state and nation.

The association stimulates interest in journalism among college students, creates fellowship and cooperation, raises the standards of journalism, helps each college and university accomplish goals and fosters free speech and free press on Indiana's campuses.

The association was started in Terre Haute in 1957 when publications advisers and journalism students met at Indiana State. The founders hoped to promote fellowship and cooperation among the state's collegiate journalists and publications.

Contact: Stacy Brownbridge, Student Media, Indiana State University, 812-237-3984 or