Indiana State University Newsroom

Four receive Landini Outstanding Junior Awards

April 24, 2014

The Indiana State University Alumni Association has honored four students with the Richard G. Landini Outstanding Junior Award.

Named for the university's eighth president who served from 1975-1992, the award recognizes juniors for their outstanding achievement, service to their class and for living up to the ideals and values of the university.

"This award annually recognizes junior students for their commitment to Indiana State. The finalists and recipients, much like Dr. Landini, favorably represent the University and embody its ideals and values," Regina Atkins, a 2010 Indiana State graduate and 2009 Landini Award recipient, said in announcing the winners. "This year, we had a number of great candidates. With so many applicants, it is a true testament to the quality education and college experience that Indiana State provides."

To be considered for the Landini Awards, students must have a 3.25 grade point average or above on a 4.0 scale, write an essay about how they live up to the university's ideals and values and be recommended by a professor or colleague with whom they have worked.

The 2014 Landini Award recipients are Katherine Lugar of Terre Haute, Brooke Rust of Grandview, Mitchell Wasmund of Avon and Allison Young Herzog of Bridgeton.

Lugar is earning her bachelor's degree in social work with a minor in psychology. Her campus activities include the Student Social Work Association, Student Government Association, Nonprofit Leadership Alliance and Sycamore Leadership Coalition. She is a University Honors Scholar and has been named a Difference Maker of the Month by ISU Federal Credit Union.

Her community activities include Fusion Dance Company, InterVarsity Christian Fellowship, Maryland Community Church, Martin Luther King Junior Day of Service, Hulman Links Breast Cancer Awareness Golf Outing and Terre Haute Walk Now for Autism Speaks.

Lugar is the daughter of Robyn and Joe Lugar and is a graduate of Rockville Junior-Senior High School.

Rust is a Networks Scholars and is pursuinging a double major in insurance and risk management and financial services. Her campus involvement has included Sycamore Ambassadors, Gamma Iota Sigma insurance fraternity, Insurance and Risk Management honor corps, National Society of Collegiate Scholars, Networks Scholarship recruitment coordinator, and Ethics Conference marketing team leader.

Rust is the daughter of Sandy and Ron Rust and is a graduate of South Spencer High School.

Wasmund is majoring in finance and minoring in Spanish. His campus involvement has included the Networks Professional Development Program, Honors Council, chair of the Board of Elections, Student Government Association, University 101 mentor, Faculty Senate Academic Affairs Committee, Sycamore Ambassadors, National Honor Society and Fellowship of Christian Athletes.

His community involvement has included Light House Mission and the Terre Haute Children's Museum.

Wasmund's parents are Mark and Gina Wasmund. He is a graduate of Avon High School.

Young Herzog is majoring in human development and family studies and minoring in community health and psychology. She is also receiving a certificate in gerontology. Her campus involvement includes Indiana American Association of Family and Consumer Sciences Student Unit, Golden Key International Honor Society, University Honors Program, Sigma Alpha Lamda Honor Society, National Association for the Advancement of Colored People, Phi Upsilon Omicron honor society, Omicron Delta Kappa and Sigma Alpha Pi leadership honor societies and Applied Health Sciences Committee.

Her community volunteer activity has included serving on committees for the Parke County Covered Bridge Festival, Covered Bridge Rebuild, Parke County Chamber of Commerce, Riverton-Parke Choir/Band Booster Club, Parke County Court Appointed Special Advocate and Bridgeton Neighborhood Watch.

Young Herzog is married to Steven Herzog of Rosedale and is the daughter of Jane and Jack Young of Houma, La. She is a 1982 graduate of South Terrebonne High School in Bourg, La.

Photo: - Recipients of the 2014 Richard G. Landini Outstanding Junior Awards pose for a group photo following the April 12, 2014 awards presentation. From left are Brooke Rust of Grandview, Allison Young Herzog of Bridgeton, Katherine Lugar of Terre Haute and Mitchell Wasmund of Avon. (ISU/Rachel Keyes)

Writer: Beth Pickerill, media relations assistant, Office of Communications and Marketing, Indiana State University, 812-237-3773 or