Indiana State University Newsroom

11 ISU faculty members honored at banquet

April 21, 2006

Indiana State University honored 11 professors for distinguished service and outstanding contributions to the university during its annual Faculty Recognition Banquet Thursday (April 20).

President Lloyd W. Benjamin III presented the President's Medal, the university's highest award for faculty, to four long time educators. Caleb Mills Distinguished Teaching Awards, Faculty Distinguished Teaching Awards and Theodore Dreiser Distinguished Research/Creativity Awards were also presented.

President's Medal

C. Sue Davis, professor of communication - An ISU faculty member since 1967, Davis "has taught with sensitivity and panache generations of students the art of the oral interpretation of literature," Benjamin said in presenting her award. "Countless elementary school teachers across Indiana continue to bring literature alive to their pupils via interpretative techniques learned in Professor Davis' classes."

Many of Davis' students have become university professors in performance studies, extending her influence and enthusiasm for future generations, Benjamin noted, calling her "an inspiring teacher, an impassioned director/performer, and a tirelessly unselfish colleague, a faculty member who has made a difference for her students, her discipline, her university, and her colleagues."

David Del Colletti, associate professor of theater - An ISU faculty member for 26 years, Del Colletti is an accomplished lighting designer, producing director, and production manager, whose work has regularly been part of ISU theatrical productions throughout his tenure, and part of productions in university and public theaters in Indianapolis, Greencastle and Terre Haute as well as Illinois, Iowa and Wisconsin for the past 17 years.

"Professor Del Colletti, whether at theater festivals, in the department, or at community events, is the 'go to,' 'can do' person who 'gets the job done,'" Benjamin said. "He has enriched and continues to enrich through his many talents and unflagging dedication to his students, his university, his discipline and his community."

Betsy Frank, professor of nursing - An ISU faculty member for 12 years, Frank served as department chair in the College of Nursing from 1995 to 2000 and has been a pioneer in on-line distance education in nursing. She provided service through membership and leadership on university, college and department committees and task forces.

"Professor Frank's dedication to teaching and her students is reflected in her mentoring undergraduate and graduate students, collaborating with them as well as with her Indiana State colleagues on research projects," Benjamin said. "She is dedicated to civic and community service to Terre Haute and surrounding areas, including being a para-rabbinic fellow. She is recognized state-wide and nationally by nursing colleagues for her service to local, state, and national nursing organizations."

Jeffrey L. Schrink, professor of criminology - A 35-year faculty member, Schrink assumed the chair of the criminology department in 1973 while an assistant professor and led the department through a 32-year period of growth and development, becoming the largest academic department on campus with nearly 700 undergraduate and graduate majors. He was also the main architect of an educational partnership between ISU and the Indiana Department of Correction.

"Professor Schrink has shared his time and professional expertise unstintingly with local and community organizations," Benjamin said. "He embodies the ideal of the teacher-scholar-public servant whose professional expertise and unflagging dedication provide lasting benefit to his students, his university, his discipline and our society."

Caleb Mills Distinguished Teaching Award
Named for a New Hampshire born educator who helped shape Indiana's public education system in the 19th century and served as the state's second superintendent of public instruction, this award recognizes ISU's most distinguished teachers. Excellence in teaching is the criterion considered in selecting recipients of the award.

James A. Jacobs, professor of special education - An ISU faculty member since 1988, Jacobs was selected because of the academic challenge of his class, yet the high degree of student success. Known for an innovative teaching style, Jacobs consistently attained very high student evaluation scores.

Debra Worley, associate professor of communication and coordinator, public relations program - Worley, who came to ISU in 1999, was selected because of her effective teaching techniques, encouragement of student participation, level of course challenge and encouragement of students to think for themselves.

Faculty Distinguished Service Award

Veanne Anderson, associate professor of psychology, and Angelo Di Salvo, professor emeritus of Spanish and Italian.

This award recognizes distinguished service outside the classroom to the university, students, professional organizations and the community. Excellence in, intensity of, long-term commitment to, and tangible evidence of the impact of service are the criteria considered in selecting recipients.

Theodore Dreiser Distinguished Research/Creativity Award

Eurico Ferreira, professor of finance; Jean Kristeller, professor of psychology; and Qihao Weng, associate professor of geography.

Named for the early 20th Century author who grew up in Terre Haute, this award recognizes full-time faculty members who have made outstanding contributions to their disciplines.


Writer: Dave Taylor, media relations director, Indiana State University, (812) 237-3743 or