Indiana State University Newsroom

Eleven women to compete for the title of Miss ISU

October 17, 2013

The Miss Indiana State University Scholarship Program will take place at 3:30 p.m. Sunday, Oct. 27, in the in the University Hall Theater in the Bayh College of Education. Admission is free.

There are 11 women competing for the title. The winner will represent Indiana State at Miss Indiana in June 2014 where she will vie for the right to represent Indiana at Miss America.

Contestants include Jennifer Anderson, a sophomore communications major from Orleans; Ashley Clarke, a senior legal studies major from Brazil; Leeah Cooper, a sophomore business management major from Gary; Emilie Gottsche ,a senior exercise science major from Brazil; Maggie Riall, a junior technical theater major from New Albany; Katie Richard, a senior music performance major from Kokomo; Kayla Schuler,a senior psychology major from French Lick; Laurel Spurgeon, a sophomore marketing major from St. Louis; Ayanna Sykes,a junior psychology major from Terre Haute; Sarah Talbott, a freshman elementary and special education major from New Castle and Jessica Weesner, a senior accounting major from Cambridge City.

Miss Indiana State University will receive a $1500 scholarship ($1000 from the ISU Foundation and $500 from Barnes and Noble @Indiana State). The first runner up receives a $500 scholarship from the ISU Foundation. The second runner up receives a $250 gift card from Barnes and Noble @Indiana State.

Miss Indiana State University has been in existence since 1958. There have been 30 Miss Indiana State title holders. In 1961 Kathleen Jane Burke was the First Miss Indiana State to become Miss Indiana. She was a non-finalist talent winner at Miss America.

For more information about the Miss ISU scholarship program, contact Freda Luers at  .


Writer: Paula Meyer, ISU Communications and Marketing, 812-237-3783 or