Indiana State University Newsroom

Library recognizes faculty, students at Authors and Artists reception

February 29, 2012

Indiana State University's Cunningham Memorial Library hosted the 27th annual Authors and Artists reception Wednesday, Feb. 22. The event celebrated books published by faculty in the last year, as well as artwork and student research papers.

Brad Balch, dean of the Bayh College of Education, in his keynote address, expressed the importance of "value-added contributions" to the university setting.

"It's clear today that our honorees add value to Indiana State University," said Balch.

Library Dean Alberta Comer thinks that the reception displays what ISU values.

"It definitely says what we value, that we value passing on knowledge, passing on our passions for teaching and for learning and for the enjoyment of the arts," said Comer. "It's who we are, and we do it for that community, as well as the wider world."

In addition to recognizing faculty accomplishments, students Anna Thames and Kendra Mang received the Bakerman Student Research Awards. Named for Jane Bakerman, the awards honor course-submitted research papers and are given to one graduate and one undergraduate student. Professors nominate their students' papers to receive the award.

Thame, a graduate student in the clinical mental health counseling program from Fort Wayne, wrote a paper titled, "Autism Social Skills Group Proposal." Her inspiration for the research came from working with autistic children at a preschool and the desire to learn more about social skills intervention.

Mang, a sophomore family and consumer sciences education major from Greensburg, researched and wrote a paper called "Effect of Adolescent Cell Phone Use on Independence." Mang acknowledged how technology has changed, giving students an instant connection to parents and questioned whether independence has increased or decreased.

Understanding the commitment it takes to produce quality research and writing, Mang thinks the reception is a way to support faculty and students in their research endeavors.

"I think it's just important to acknowledge that what they're doing matters," said Mang. "At the end of the day, it's not just a book, but it means something."

Professor of educational leadership William Barratt was honored for his book "Social Class on Campus: Theories and Manifestations." Barratt summarized the stressful, yet rewarding task of writing a book when he said, "If I knew how much trouble it would be, I probably wouldn't have started. If I knew how much fun it was, I would have started much earlier."

Other faculty members honored at this year's reception include:

• Matthew Brennan, professor of English, for his book "The Light of Common Day."
• Rosetta Haynes, associate professor of English, for her book "Radical Spiritual Motherhood."
• Aaron Morales, associate professor of English, for his book "American Mashup: A Popular Culture Reader."
• Cecil Nelson, professor of languages, literatures and linguistics, for his book "Intelligibility in World Englishes: Theory and Application."
• Joseph Grcic, professor of philosophy, for his book "Free and Equal: Rawls' Theory of Justice and Political Reform."
• Sala Wong, associate professor of art, for her artwork "Lost and Found in Tokyo" and "Listening - an Urban Intervention with Video."
• Mary Howard-Hamilton, professor of educational leadership, for her books "Diverse Millennial Students in College" and "Multiculturalism on Campus."
• Feng-Qi Lai, associate professor of curriculum, instruction and media technology, for her book "Mastering Computer Skills Through Experiential Learning."
• Todd Whitaker, professor of educational leadership, for his book "Shifting the Monkey."
• Brian Kilp, professor of music, for his performances with The Ambassador Brass in China and as principal horn in the Classical Musical Festival in Austria.
• Qihao Weng, professor of earth and environmental systems, for his book "Advances in Environmental Remote Sensing: Sensors, Algorithms and Applications."

Photos: - Authors and Artists - Rosetta Haynes is honored for her book "Radical Spiritual Motherhood." ISU photo - Anna Thames receives her Bakerman award from Dean Alberta Comer. - Kendra Mang receives her Bakerman award from Dean Alberta Comer.

Writer: Mallory Metheny, media relations assistant, Office of Communications and Marketing, Indiana State University, 812-237-3773

Contact: Alberta Comer, library dean, Indiana State University, 812-237-2649