Indiana State University Newsroom

Prettyman named Under Armour Athletic Director of the Year

June 13, 2011

Ron Prettyman, director of intercollegiate athletics at Indiana State University, has been named Athletic Director of the Year for the Central Region of the Football Championship Subdivision. Selections for the Under Armor Athletic Directors of the Year were announced today (Monday) in Orlando, Fla. by the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics.

During 2010-11, Prettyman, who completed his sixth year at Indiana State, led the athletics department to one of its most successful seasons in recent years. Just a few of the highlights include: the football team's first winning season since 1996, the men's basketball team's Missouri Valley Conference Tournament championship and trip to the NCAA Tournament and the men's cross country and track & field teams winning the triple crown of conference titles.

Winners will receive their awards Saturday during the James J. Corbett Awards Luncheon during the association's 46th annual convention at the World Center Marriott Resort in Orlando.

This is the second time that Prettyman, who was hired at Indiana State in 2005 after 10 years at California State - Dominguez Hills, has earned a national award from the association. In 2004, he claimed the NCAA/NACDA Administrator of the Year award.

There are four geographic regions - northeast, southeast, central and west; while the membership is separated into seven categories - Football Bowl Subdivision (formerly Division I-A); Football Championship Subdivision (formerly Division I-AA); Division I (formerly Division I-AAA); Division II; Division III; NAIA; and Junior/Community Colleges. One winner was selected in each of the seven categories, for a total of 28 honorees.

The Athletic Director of the Year Award is essential because it highlights the efforts of athletics directors at all levels for their commitment and positive contributions to campuses and their surrounding communities, according to Mike Clearly, executive director of the association.

"Our Honors and Awards Committee recognized a need for an award such as the AD of the Year," said Cleary. "The program brings to light the outstanding jobs done by athletics directors across the country. These 28 winners exemplify that, providing us with a group of exemplary athletics directors who excel at their jobs."

Contact: Danny Pfrank, athletics media relations, Indiana State University, 812-237-4159 or