Indiana State University Newsroom

Five grads receive Hines Medal for highest GPA

April 26, 2011

Indiana State University has presented the Hines Memorial Medal to five graduating seniors in recognition of their academic accomplishments. Named for Linnaeus Hines, who served as the fourth president of Indiana State from 1921 to 1933, the Hines Medal is awarded to students with the highest cumulative grade-point average during the pursuit of a bachelor's degree at Indiana State. Recipients will be recognized during Indiana State's spring commencement which begins at noon Saturday, May 7.

Heather Marie Bauer of Huntingburg will graduate with degrees in psychology and criminology and criminal justice. She plans to complete a master's degree at Ball State University and later a doctoral degree in clinical psychology with an emphasis in psychology and the law in anticipation of working as a clinical psychologist for the court or prison system. In addition to the Hines Medal, Bauer is one of five graduating seniors awarded ISU's Rankin Memorial Distinguished Senior Award in recognition of membership and leadership ability in campus organizations and the community.

While at Indiana State, Bauer served internships at the Putnamville Correctional Facility and Vigo County Prosecutor's Office, worked as a counselor and tutor for the Upward Bound Program, a Summer Honors counselor and an academic peer advocate for fellow students in her residence hall. She was a researcher and research assistant in the psychology department, was active in the University Honors program and National Society of Collegiate Scholars and served as president of the Psychology Society and Psi Chi. Her previous awards have included the Richard G. Landini Outstanding Junior Award, numerous psychology department awards and the Residential Life Service Award. Her community activities have included Lighthouse Mission, College Mentors for Kids, American Red Cross and the Boys and Girls Club of Terre Haute.

Rebecca Campbell of Whiteland will graduate with a bachelor's degree in nursing. She plans to secure a nursing position at an Indianapolis area hospital and later enroll in a graduate program to become a clinical nurse specialist in adult health. She has future plans of teaching nursing students and hopes to use her skills and education to serve the people of Haiti and other areas to bring health care to those in need.

Campbell served as president of the President's Scholars Association in 2009-10, was active in the University Honors Program and University Honors Student Association, served as a residential life learning community peer assistant, was a student representative on the student affairs committee for the College of Nursing, Health, and Human Services, was a Fall Welcome ambassador to new students, and was active in Christian Student Fellowship, Lambda Sigma Chapter of Theta Tau International, the Student Nurses Association and Alternative Spring Break. Her awards included a President's Scholarship, University Honors Student Leader Award, Community Engagement in Nursing Award and Poster Presenter Award at the Sigma Theta Tau chapter research symposium. Campbell's community activities included Haiti Outreach Ministries and Christian Student Ministries.

Kali Rachelle Diethrich of Terre Haute is completing a double major in insurance and risk management and business administration. Starting this summer, she will be a wholesale broker with All Risks in Phoenix, Ariz.

Diethrich was active in the Networks Professional Development Program in the Scott College of Business, served as president of the Insurance and Risk management Honor Corps, a member of Alpha Lambda Delta and Beta Gamma Sigma, was a student assistant for coordination of the insurance and risk management program's insurance advisory council meetings and was vice president of community service for Gamma Iota Sigma, the insurance fraternity. She received numerous awards, including the Networks, State Farm and Old National Insurance scholarships, Outstanding Operations Student Award, Outstanding Business Statistics Award, Richard G. Landini Outstanding Junior Award and Networks Leadership Award. She was also a Networks Scholar of the Year for three straight years. Her community service include Race for the Cure, Heart Walk, March of Dimes, Ryves Youth Center at Etling Hall, Lighthouse Mission, Valentine's Day cards for nursing homes, Daffodil Day for American Cancer Society, Yellow Ribbons for Soldiers, Relay for Life, Habitat for Humanity and Humane Society.

Lana Renee Schrock of Toledo, Ill. will graduate with a bachelor's degree in speech-language pathology and plans to pursue a master's degree in speech-language pathology at Miami University in Oxford, Ohio.

Schrock served as president of the ISU chapter of the National Student Speech, Language, and Hearing Association, student leader in Christian Student Fellowship. She is a member of the Sycamore Leadership Coalition College Leadership Committee, the University Honors program, the University Honors Student Association, President's Scholars Association, Phi Kappa Phi Honor Society, Sigma Alpha Lambda and Alpha Lambda Delta and was a student blogger for the Office of Communications and Marketing. Her awards have included the Bayh College of Education High Honor Collegiate Scholar, President's Academic Excellence Scholarship and the Norma Grosjean, Hannah Schlueter Memorial and Focus Indiana scholarships. Schrock's community activities included Lighthouse Mission, Relay for Life, Race for the Cure, Walk Now for Autism Speaks, Spring Break Mission Trip to Chicago and Martin Luther King Jr. Day of Service.

Breanna Lynn Wyman of West Union, Ill. is completing a bachelor's degree in chemistry and plans to continue her education at the Purdue University College of Pharmacy.

Wyman has been involved with the American Chemical Society student affiliates, Alpha Chi Omega, Concert Band and the University Honors program. A President's Scholar, her other awards have included Outstanding Achievement in Organic Chemistry; Undergraduate Award in Analytical Chemistry and CRC Press Chemistry Achievement Award. Her community service has included VistaCare Hospice.

Photos: - Heather Marie Bauer - Rebecca Campbell - Kali Rachelle Diethrich - Lana Renee Schrock - Breanna Wyman

Media contact: Dave Taylor, media relations director, Office of Communications and Marketing, Indiana State University, 812-237-3743 or