Indiana State University Newsroom

Authors and Artists reception honors ISU faculty, students

February 28, 2011

Nearly 25 faculty members and students of Indiana State University were recognized Wednesday during the 26th annual Authors and Artists reception.

Hosted by Cunningham Memorial Library, the reception displayed books published by faculty within the last year, as well as artwork, student research papers and award-winning videos.

Library Dean Alberta Comer thinks this is one of the best events that the library hosts.

"It gives the library and university an opportunity to honor what scholarship is all about-research, literature, and art-not just by faculty, but students too," she said.

John Murray, dean of the College of Arts and Sciences, was the keynote speaker. Though he admitted to never publishing a book, he expressed his awe and appreciation for those who have and acknowledged the importance of written work.

"Books serve a critical function," he said, "They not only enrich us; books unite us."

There were two Bakerman Student Research Award winners, Jason Fishburn and Sarah Ehrat. These awards are given to honor outstanding course-submitted research papers. Named for Jane Bakerman, one graduate and one undergraduate award are given annually. Use of the library's resources is highly encouraged, and professors nominate their students' work to be chosen.

Fishburn, a graduate assistant in the School of Music, wrote his paper on "Singing and its Effect on Well-Being." Dennis Ballard of the music department nominated Fishburn.

Throughout his research, he said he was greatly surprised at how song impacted many groups of people, including homeless men and women, sick children, the elderly, and prison inmates.

Ehrat, a junior nursing major from Vandalia, Ill., was given the undergraduate award. Nominated by Nan McEntire of the English department, she wrote a paper entitled "Reading Nature: The World of a Farmer." Intrigued by the folklore archives at ISU's library, she wrote about "farmer-lore."

"It's a big honor. I wrote primarily about my grandpa, who died a little over a year ago," she said, "It's a good way to honor him."

The library also recognized the REEL Big Video Award winners. John Wakim took home the grand prize of $1,000. Danek Znika took second place and won $500. The theme of this year's video was "Cunningham Memorial Library-The Place to Be!"

One faculty member honored was Maury Miller from the department of educational leadership, administration and foundations for his book "Psalm Songs: Poetic Meditations for the Psalms."

"It has absolutely nothing to do with my professional life," Miller said. However, he said he thinks every professional should start the day with meditation.

Other faculty members honored at this year's reception include:
• Basil Gomez, professor of geography and geology, for his book "Research Methods in Geography: A Critical Introduction."
• James H. Speer, associate professor of earth and environmental systems, for his book "Fundamentals of Tree-Ring Research."
• Charles E. Roberts Jr., professor of mathematics and computer science, for his book "Ordinary Differential Equations: Applications, Models, and Computing."
• Todd Whitaker, professor of educational leadership, administration and foundations, for his books "The Ball" and "What Great Coaches Do Differently: Eleven Elements of Effective Coaching."
• David Polizzi, assistant professor of criminology and criminal justice, for his book "Surviving Your Clinical Placement: Reflections, Suggestions, and Unsolicited Advice."
• Daniel A. Clark, assistant professor of history, for his book "Creating the College Man: American Mass Magazines and Middle Class Manhood, 1890-1915."
• Christopher Fischer, assistant professor of history, for his book "Alsace to the Alsatians? Visions and Diversions of Alsatian Regionalism 1870-1939."
• Anne L. Foster, assistant professor of history, for her book "Projections of Power: The United States and Europe in Colonial Southeast Asia, 1919-1941."
• Barbara Eversole, assistant professor of human resource development and performance technologies, for her book "Boomer Retirement Time Bomb: How Companies Can Avoid the Fallout From the Coming Skill Shortage."
• Matthew Brennan, professor of English, for his book "The Poet's Holy Craft: William Gilmore Simms and Romantic Verse Traditions."
• Mark Lewandowski, associate professor of English, for his book "Halibut Rodeo."
• Aaron Morales, assistant professor of English, for his book "Drowning Tucson."
• Robert Perrin, chair and professor of English, for his book "Handbook for College Research, 4th Ed."
• James Wurtz, assistant professor of English, for his book "The Cock and Anchor: Being a Chronicle of Old Dublin City."
• Gow-Hwei (Ray) Chen, assistant professor of art, for his artwork "Mother and Child."
• Sala Wong, assistant professor of art, for her artwork "Finding Invisible Cities" and "To Tell a Secret."
• Scott Buchanan, associate professor of music and director of choral activities, for his choral conducting at the Kennedy Center on Memorial Day 2010.
• John O. Whitaker Jr., professor of biology, for his book "Mammals of Indiana-A Field Guide."
• Betsy Frank, professor of baccalaureate nursing and completion, for her book "Pathways to a Nursing Education Career."

Cheryl Blevens with the library presents James Wurtz a certificate recognizing him for his book "The Cock and Anchor: Being a Chronicle of Old Dublin City." ISU Photo/Tony Campbell
Sarah Ehrat receives the undergraduate Bakerman Student Research Award from Library Dean Alberta Comer. ISU Photo/Tony Campbell

Writer: Mallory Metheny, media relations assistant, Office of Communications and Marketing, Indiana State University, 812-237-3773