Indiana State University Newsroom

Four seniors to receive Hines Medal at ISU commencement

December 14, 2010

Four Indiana State University graduating seniors have been selected to receive the Hines Memorial Medal during winter commencement Saturday at noon in Hulman Center.

Named for Linnaeus Hines, who served as Indiana State's fourth president from 1921 to 1933, the award recognizes the graduating student or students with the highest cumulative grade point average.

Fall 2010 recipients of the Hines Memorial Medal are:

Sara Elizabeth Beckman of Terre Haute, a history major, plans to attend graduate school to pursue a master's degree in library and information sciences. Beckman is the recipient of the President's Academic Excellence Award, the Dean's Scholarship, and the John and Carl E. Vukusich Memorial Scholarship.

At Indiana State, Beckman was a member of the history club, Phi Alpha Theta history honors fraternity, University Honors Student Association and Sigma Alpha Lambda honors fraternity. She worked at the ISU Bookstore and was involved with Wabash Valley Visions and Voices and University Archives.

A graduate of Terre Haute South Vigo High School, she is the daughter of Kent and Kathy Beckman.

Whitney Nicole O'Brien of Terre Haute, an accounting major, plans to work for Dauby O'Connor and Zaleski, a public accounting firm, beginning at the end of December. O'Brien is the recipient of the President's Scholarship, Networks Scholarship and the Indiana CPA Society Scholarship.

At Indiana State, O'Brien was a member of the Alpha Kappa Psi business fraternity. A graduate of Terre Haute North Vigo High School, she is the daughter of Jerry and Penny O'Brien.

Jeffrey M. Gardner of Fishers, a professional aviation flight technology major, plans to remain at Indiana State as a graduate assistant in the department of aviation within ISU's College of Technology in the spring of 2011. Gardner is the recipient of the Aviation Student of the Year Award 2009-2010.

During his time at Indiana State, Gardner served as captain of the ISU Flight Team, which placed 12th overall in the National Intercollegiate Flying Association's SAFECON competition in June. He placed second in the men's achievement category. Gardner was also a certified flight instructor at Brown Flying School in Terre Haute. Gardner is the son of Greg and Nancy Gardner.

Sarah Anne Tillman of Claypool, a psychology major, plans to attend graduate school to study school counseling and community mental health counseling. Tillman is the recipient of the President's Scholarship and the Outstanding Junior Psychology Student Award.

At Indiana State, Tillman was involved with InterVarsity Christian Fellowship, the President's Scholars Association and the University Honors Student Association. A graduate of Tippecanoe Valley High School, she is the daughter of Dale and Deb Tillman.

ISU's commencement will be broadcast online, beginning at 11:30 a.m. The processional of graduates is scheduled for 11:45 a.m. followed by the commencement ceremonies at noon. To watch, click on the "Commencement Broadcast" link on the left side of the ISU home page ( There is no fee to watch the graduation exercises.

Writer: Lana Schrock, media relations assistant, Indiana State University Communications and Marketing, 812-237-3773 or