Indiana State University Newsroom

Four receive Landini Outstanding Junior Award

May 10, 2010

Brittany Cuthbertson of Terre Haute, Christopher Hauger of Sullivan, Annie Smith of Columbus and David Walters of Valparaiso have received the Richard G. Landini Outstanding Junior Award at Indiana State University.

Named for Indiana State's eighth president, who served from 1975 to 1992, the Landini Award recognizes juniors for their outstanding achievement, service to their class and for living up to the ideals and values of the university. The Landini Award is presented by Sycamore Ambassadors (formerly known as the ISU Student Alumni Association).

Cuthbertson, daughter of Richard and Dona Cuthbertson and a 2008 graduate of Terre Haute North Vigo High School, is an accounting major in ISU's Donald W. Scott College of Business. In her time at Indiana State, she has been involved in the Networks Professional Development Program, Honors program and Chi Omega women's fraternity.

Hauger, son of Kurtis and Suzanne Hauger and a 2007 graduate of Sullivan High School, is a Rural Health Scholar at Indiana State, where he is majoring in liberal studies. He hopes to become a physician specializing in internal medicine, family practice, surgery or anesthesia. At Indiana State, he has coordinated Blue and White Homecoming Parade, served as president of Rhoads/Mills Area Government and participated in Summer Undergraduate Research Experience.

Smith, daughter of Joe and Cindy Smith and a 2007 graduate of Columbus North High School, is majoring in public relations. At Indiana State, she has been involved with Hulman Memorial Student Union Board. She will serve as president for the 2010-2011 academic year. She is the creator and director of ISU Dance Marathon for Riley Children's Hospital, an annual event to raise money for the hospital.

Walters, son of son of Dave and Kim Walters of Valparaiso, is a 2007 graduate of Washington Township High School and a risk management, business and marketing major at Indiana State. At Indiana State, he is a Gongaware Scholar at ISU and a member of Gamma Iota Sigma, an insurance and risk management fraternity. He has served as a co-host of "Sycamore Experience," a segment of men's basketball coach Kevin McKenna's weekly television show.

Cuthbertson, Brittany:

Hauger, Christopher:

Annie Smith:

David Walters: