Indiana State University Newsroom

Library to honor authors and artists at 25th annual reception

February 17, 2010

Indiana State University's Cunningham Memorial Library will honor students, faculty and staff who published written, artistic or performed material in 2009 during the 25th annual Authors and Artists Reception.

The reception, which will be Feb. 24 at 4 p.m. in the Library Events Area, will feature light refreshments, live music, a keynote speaker and the presentation of several awards.

"This honors authors and artists across the disciplines," said Alberta Comer, dean of the ISU Cunningham Memorial Library. "Since the library feels authors and artists give so much to our culture, we want to give something back."

The awardees from the first year of the program, 1985, will be recognized during the reception. Richard "Biff" Williams, dean of the College of Nursing, Health and Human Services is scheduled to speak about the importance of academic publications.

Following Williams, the library staff will present more than 20 awards, including the Bakerman Student Research Awards. The Bakerman awards are given to one undergraduate student and one graduate student who wrote an exceptional research paper for class during the spring, summer or fall of 2009. The students must have used Cunningham Memorial Library resources for the papers. The undergraduate winner will receive a $1,000 award while the graduate winner will receive a $1,500 award.

The professor who nominated the respective winners will receive a $250 award.

The winners of the "Reel Big Video" contest, a competition in which ISU students produce and submit videos, will also be revealed. This year's theme for the competition was "A Survivalist Guide to ISU Library." A library committee narrowed the selections in order for ISU students, faculty and staff to vote. The two videos with the most votes will win. The first place winner will receive a $1,000 award, and the second place winner will receive a $500 award.

Many ISU faculty and staff will be recipients of awards regarding written or artistic work published in the last year.

Steve Hardin, associate librarian at the Cunningham Memorial Library, was honored several years ago for a book he published.

"It's a good celebration for just about everybody on campus," Hardin said.


Contact: Alberta Comer, dean of the Cunningham Memorial Library, at 812-237-2649 or

Writer: Lana Schrock, media relations assistant, Indiana State University, at 812-237-3773 or