Indiana State University Newsroom

Technology student wins top scholarship from technology education association

February 2, 2010

An ISU sophomore has received the International Technology Education Association's undergraduate scholarship for outstanding efforts in technology education.

Megan Jackson, of West Terre Haute, is the 2009-2010 recipient of the $1,000 scholarship awarded annually by the organization.

The application process for the scholarship included a letter of application, a college transcript and three faculty recommendations. Kara Harris, an assistant professor of technology management at ISU who recommended Jackson for the scholarship, said Jackson is very deserving.

"Megan has outstanding academic achievements," Harris said. "In addition, she goes above and beyond both academically, professionally, and in her volunteerism."

Jackson is involved in many outreach activities at ISU including Females in Technology, Tech Trek, First Year Programs and Team Sycamore Racing.

"It amazes me that from all of the people who applied, I was the only one awarded in the nation to receive this scholarship," Jackson said. "It is a very big help to me and my family as well as an honor."

The scholarship committee looked for students with excellent leadership skills who have a desire to continue in the technology education field.

"When I was introduced to technology education, I was determined that it would become my future," Jackson said. "I will be able to give students real world experiences and prepare them to go into the workforce or higher education."

Jackson will be attending the 72nd annual International Technology Education Association conference in Charlotte, N.C. in March to receive her award.

While there, she and several technology and engineering education students will also compete against 22 other colleges and universities in problem solving competitions.

Contact: Kara Harris, Indiana State University, assistant professor of technology management,(812) 237-9633 or

Writer: Bailee Souder, Indiana State University, media relations intern, (812) 237-3773 or