Indiana State University Newsroom

Female faculty, alumnae recognized at Equality Day program

September 9, 2009

Four Indiana State University faculty members and two community leaders were recognized during a recent Equality Day program in Hulman Memorial Student Union.

Since 1971, Equality Day has been recognized nationally in observance of the passage in 1920 of the 19th amendment to the U.S. Constitution, which granted full voting rights to women.

This year's observance at Indiana State provided the university an opportunity to recognize recipients of the second annual Charlotte Zietlow Women Faculty Research Grants. Zietlow, a member of the ISU Board of Trustees from 1989-2005 and resident of Bloomington, established the grant as part of an endowment exclusively to support pre-tenure women faculty in their work to achieve tenure.

The 2009 recipients are:
• Marcee Everly, assistant professor of nursing, who researches the experience of midwives working in various settings;
• Barbara Eversole, assistant professor of human resource development, who researches the role of the chief executive officer in creating work environments that respect human work and life;
• Susan Hagood, assistant professor of physical education, who is continuing a three-year study that will contribute to effective strategies in responding to child obesity; and
• Mandy Reid, assistant professor of English and women's studies, who examines the power of cultural texts to produce, sustain, and perhaps challenge discriminatory cultural practices, including the ways in which 19th century coloring books "teach" racial knowledge to children.

"Young faculty on a tenure track are the future of the institution, and yet they have the hardest row to hoe - preparing new classes, participating in their new departments, feeling the pressure to publish, and trying to balance all of that with their personal lives in a new community," Zietlow said. "Women, especially, face tremendous pressures. That's just the way things work."

Zietlow established the grant fund, with support from Lilly Endowment, after former Indiana State President Lloyd W. Benjamin III pointed out the challenges female faculty face. Current ISU President Dan Bradley provided university funds to support the 2009 awardees and announced at the Equality Day event that he will match the funds available for the 2010 awards as well. Proposals for 2010 Zietlow Grants will be accepted for review in January.

"I am very touched and gratified that President Bradley immediately saw the importance of this effort," Zietlow said, adding that she will explore whether others - including retired faculty, trustees and others - might also like to add to the fund.

Also during Indiana State's Equality Day program, the university recognized two alumnae who have achieved leadership roles in area non-profit organizations: Nikki Simpson, division director of the March of Dimes, and Claudia Tanoos, assistant director of Terre Haute Economic Development Corp.

ISU's Women's Studies Program will sponsor a colloquium in March 2010 that will feature presentations by the 2009 Zietlow Grant awardees and provide an opportunity to showcase other interdisciplinary work by women faculty. The event will part of the university's celebration of Women's History month.

Photo: - Charlotte Zietlow

Media contact and writer: Dave Taylor, media relations director, Office of Communications and Marketing, Indiana State University, 812-237-3743 or