Indiana State University Newsroom

Five recognized with University Medallions

July 31, 2009

Indiana State University has recognized five veteran staff members with the University Medallion.

Indiana State's highest award, the medallion is presented annually by the university's president to executive, administrative, professional or support staff employees who have demonstrated exceptional initiative and accomplishment in three ways: years of service, distinguished achievement in their profession and civic involvement.

During Indiana State's annual Employee Recognition Program Thursday (July 30), President Daniel J. Bradley presented the University Medallion to Judy Conner, David Ellis, Betsy Hine, Freda Luers and Mark Pupilli. A campus-wide committee of university employees reviewed all nominations and recommended the five recipients chosen to receive the medallion.

Conner, director of Hulman Memorial Student Union and a 31-year employee, "has been a symbol of what Indiana State University stands for - hard work, integrity, and a love for the students and staff," according to her nomination, submitted by a quartet of current and former ISU colleagues. "She spends an immeasurable number of hours reviewing facilities usage and brainstorming and implementing plans on how to better serve the ISU community," her nomination reads.

Conner is active in the Indiana Association of Women in Education and the Association of College Unions International.

Ellis, director of environmental safety and an ISU employee for nearly 23 years, "is one of the unsung heroes of the university" and is "the ‘go to' person" for issues related to indoor air quality, safety or compliance issues, reads his nomination. "Dave cares about the students who work and intern in his office and provides invaluable instructional teaching to better prepare them for their career," the nomination goes on to say, noting those students have landed jobs in environmental safety, construction safety and lab safety in locations ranging from Alaska to England.

Ellis is a member of several national professional organizations, including the National Safety Council. His community involvement has included Sister Dorothy and the Providence Place Project, Vigo County Health Department Lead Assessment Committee and the White Violet Center for Eco-Justice.

At Indiana State for 22 years, Betsy Hine is associate dean at Cunningham Memorial Library and "has unfalteringly provided steadfast service to the library and university," according to her nomination. "She has devoted her career to academic libraries and has helped shape librarianship regionally and nationally," the nomination reads.

Hine has served students as a faculty advisor, liaison and board member of United Campus Ministries. She is also known for her work in servant leadership and "building a sense of community" in the workplace. She was one of the 2008 recipients of the President's Medal.

Luers, associate director of student activities and organizations, was nominated for the award by several students who wrote individual letters attesting to her influence.

"Freda's achievements have been revealed through her passion, commitment to the students and the admirable impact she has had on students' lives," read one such letter. "Freda is one of those people that make an impact on peoples' lives without trying to do so. I can honestly say that my college career would not have been the same without this woman," wrote another student.

Luers has worked at ISU for more than 11 years. During that time she has served on the University Homecoming Committee, Academic Advising Committee, Student Affairs and Higher Education Program Committee and Student Speakers Series Committee. She has been active in several national organizations including the Association of Fraternity Advisors, National Association of Student personnel Administrators, National Association of Campus Activities and Association of College Unions International.

Her community involvement has included Kiwanis, serving as serving as registration chair for the Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure and as a Terre Haute Community Theatre judge.

Mark Pupilli, a 21-year employee, has worked directly with every organization on campus through his oversight and responsibility to maintain campus mechanical systems. He has also provided communications systems to campus departments. His professional involvement includes the Association of Physical Plant Administrators while his community involvement has included TREES Inc., Walk America - Vermillion County and local and national amateur radio organizations.

"Mark often works weekends and after hours preparing and delivering communications equipment," according to his nomination. "(He) is by far one of the most valuable and "relied on" individuals the university has employed in terms of building and campus infrastructure operations, maintenance and emergency response. His talents ... and expertise would cost ISU big dollars if we were to hire contractors to perform the tasks for the 60 buildings he maintains."

In addition to Medallion recipients, more than 130 university employees were recognized for service milestones, including Barbara Landini, who has served the university for 45 years, and Richard Faulkner and Christy Watts, who have each served the university for 40 years.


Writer and media contact: Dave Taylor, media relations director, Office of Communications and Marketing, Indiana State University, 812-237-3743 or


Cutline: ISU employees given the Medallion Award, Indiana State's highest award, are: (left to right) Judy Conner; Mark Pupilli, Dave Evans, Freda Luers, and Betsy Hine. ISU photo


Cutline: ISU President Dan Bradley presents Betsy Hine with the Medallion Award. ISU photo