Error processing SSI file

May 2, 2003

ISU student workers honored at ceremony

TERRE HAUTE, Ind. — Four Indiana State University students were honored as the most distinguished student workers at the fifth annual Distinguished Student Worker Recognition Ceremony April 10 in Dede III of the Hulman Memorial Student Union.

Student employment supervisors nominated workers who have performed a superior job during the school year. Out of 31 nominations, the list was narrowed to the four most distinguished student workers.

They were:

  • Heather Crowe, freshman elementary and special education major
  • Christopher Brink, senior theater major
  • Lori Cheatham, senior business administration major
  • Loretta Sylvester, senior elementary education major

Brad Crites, senior science education major, recognized Heather Crowe as the most distinguished student worker for the first-year category (length of service).

“[Crowe] has become one of the most impressive employees to be hired in the Center for Science Education,” Crites said.

Christopher Brink was recognized by Ann Warren, interim scenic studio supervisor, as the most distinguished student worker for the two-year category.

“What makes Chris excel at his job is that he is always thinking,” Warren said. “He contributes with innovative and interesting ideas.”

Tammy South, budget coordinator, nominated Lori Cheatham, for the most distinguished student worker for the three-year category.

“She works exceptionally well under pressure and is willing to do additional duties without complaint,” South said. “In addition to doing an outstanding job performing her job duties, she constantly volunteers to help other staff and students complete their projects.”

Stanley Shimer, science education coordinator and professor, nominated Loretta Sylvester for the most distinguished student worker in the four-year category.

“[Sylvester] has worked very diligently to serve as the database coordinator and secretary to the Hoosier Association of Science Teachers, Inc., a statewide organization of approximately 5,000 members based in our office.”


Lisa Hilt, coordinator of 2003 Distinguished Student Worker Ceremony, (812) 237-4117 or

Adriane Shaw, public affairs intern, (812) 237-3773 or

ISU Public Affairs:
(812) 237-3773 or