Error processing SSI file

September 26, 2002

ISU School of Education
Points of Pride

ISU one of only three institutions to receive 2002 Christa McAuliffe Award
for leadership, innovation in teacher education program
This award was presented by AASCU (the American Association of State Colleges and Universities)
specifically for the quality of ISU's Professional Development Schools partnership. [MORE]

Two Finalists for the 2003 Indiana Teacher of the Year
Debbie Davidson, resides at Brownsburg, Grades 10-12 Business
BS Indiana State University, M.S. Indiana University
Ben Davis High School, 1200 N. Girls School Road,
Indianapolis Metropolitan School District of Wayne Township,
David Marcotte, principal; Dr. Terry Thompson, superintendent

Sandra K. Witherby, resides at Richmond, Grade 2
B.S. Indiana State University, M.S. Ball State University
Vaile Elementary School, 300 S. 14th Street, Richmond
Richmond Community Schools, Chris Rodal, principal
Dr. Phyllis Amick, superintendent


Indiana Teacher of the Year Winners/Runners-up

ISU Recipients Since 1989:

Indiana Teacher of the Year Winners:
2001 Kurran Strunk--AB, 1991 (Muessel Elementary School, South Bend)
2000 Kathy Politz--BS, 1970 (West Vigo Elementary School, Terre Haute)
1990 Mary Kay Baker--BS, 1974 (Rise Learning Center, Indianapolis)
1989 Karen McKibbin--BS, 1972 (LaSalle High School, South Bend)

Indiana Teacher of the Year Runner-Ups:
1999 Karen Molter--BS, 1973 (South Newton High School, Kentland)
1998 Jill Fairhurst-Taylor--BS, 1981 (Elementary School, Brownsburg)
1989 Brantley Blythe, Jr.--BS, 1967 (Teacher, Seymore)

Student teachers:
During the 2001-2002 school year, 360 Indiana State University students taught in 50 elementary schools and early childhood education facilities and 220 secondary schools.

Indiana School Superintendents:
Thirty-five percent of all Indiana school superintendents are ISU graduates.

Indiana Association of School Principals:
The Middle School Principal of the Year for 2001 was 2000 Ph.D. graduate Mark Eastridge.