Scholarships and Awards


Lillian Gay Berry Memorial Latin Awards:
Granted annually from an endowment established in 1953 by Lillian Gay Berry, Indiana State University class of 1895. A professor of Latin at Indiana University for 41 years (1902-1941), she was named an ISU Distinguished Alumna in 1957. She died at the age of 90 in 1962. Award recipients are selected by the department's Latin faculty on the basis of high quality of character, scholarship and leadership. Please complete an application form found here.

Gertrude Ewing Latin Scholarship:
The Gertrude Ewing Awards were established in 1971 by Indiana State University Latin alumni in honor of Gertrude Ewing, Professor of Latin at ISU from 1931 to 1969. Under Miss Ewing’s guidance, the Gamma Alpha Chapter of Eta Sigma Phi was founded more than 50 years ago. Recipients, chosen by the department's Latin faculty, maintain her high standards of scholarship, her love of learning, her commitment to teaching, and her enthusiasm for all things Classical.
Please complete an application form found here.


Julie Bevilacqua Cutter Memorial Scholarship:
Awarded to a foreign born, full-time [undergraduate or graduate] student majoring or minoring in language education and who has demonstrated academic excellence. To be considered for this award, please complete an application form found here; applications are due February 1st.

Outstanding Undergraduate Graduating Senior:
Selected by the LLL faculty each year for recognition by the College of Arts and Sciences as the Department's outstanding undergraduate student from among its graduating seniors.

Mary Olga Peters Award:
Established in honor of Mary Olg Peters, who served on the ISU faculty for 34 years and was chairperson of the LLL department for nine years (1954-63).The department-wide award is presented to a student majoring in the department who holds membership in Phi Sigma Iota, plans to teach in a language, and demonstrates qualities of leadership and good character.

Most Recent Recipients

Lillian-Gay Berry Memorial Latin Award (2011): Cailen Dixon, Chase DuPont, Kayla Knott, Kelley McKay

Gertrud Ewing Latin Scholarship (2011): Ayrielle Davis, Amy DuBois, Harold Bosstick, Sharin Underwood, Arna Zurcher