Higher Learning Commission (HLC)

Indiana State University has been accredited by the Higher Learning Commission (HLC). The accreditation process has two primary goals: to ensure the quality of institutions of higher education and to promote continuous improvement.

ISU was last reviewed in 2010.  The next comprehensive evaluation will occur in 2020-2021.

To view ISU's Statement of Affiliation Status on the HLC web site, click on the image below.

NCA Logo

The Higher Learning Commission                                                           
230 South LaSalle Street, Suite 7-500, Chicago, Illinois 60604-1411
Phone: 800.621.7440 / 312.263.0456 . Fax: 312.263.7462 .

State of Indiana Authorization

Indiana State University was established in 1865 by the Indiana General Assembly as the Indiana State Normal School. In 1929, it was renamed Indiana State Teachers College, and in 1961 was renamed Indiana State College. Finally, in 1965, the Indiana General Assembly renamed the institution as Indiana State University. The Indiana Commission of Higher Education has approved the programs offered through the Doctoral Level at Indiana State University and reviews all programs and makes recommendations to the Indiana General Assembly and Governor regarding the funding and disposition of those programs.


In addition to institutional accreditation conferred by the HLC, many of ISU’s educational programs are accredited by specialized agencies, such as discipline-based organizations and professional associations. Information about the specialized accreditations of ISU’s educational programs can be found at