Indiana State University Newsroom

Indiana Principal Leadership Institute selects fourth cohort

June 24, 2016

The Indiana Principal Leadership Institute at Indiana State University's Bayh College of Education has selected 68 principals to participate in the fourth IPLI Cohort that begins in July.

Cohort No. 4 will be mentored by 11 trained mentors. These mentors are experienced Indiana school leaders, and they will play a key role in guiding smaller regional focus-cohorts in their areas of the state.

The Indiana Principal Leadership Institute is a two-year experience designed to address the professional needs of Indiana public school principals with an emphasis on student success. The institute will increase a principal's capacity to address the current needs of her/his school, such as effective instruction, student performance, community involvement and shaping a strong school culture.

"Principals play a significant role in enhancing student achievement," said Linda Marrs-Morford, executive director of the Indiana Principal Leadership Institute. "Based on the initial results from our first three years, we are already making an impact as our principals lay the groundwork to completely implement policies and procedures that will put their schools on a path to not just better performance, but a place where the whole child can learn and grow."

In addition to the targeted work with each cohort, IPLI is committed to serving as a resource for all Indiana principals, their schools and their school communities. This includes sharing research, providing access to leadership assessments and offering tools to develop action research plans. IPLI's website,, serves as the clearinghouse for this information.

The fourth cohort includes:

Tierney Anderson of Sunnyside Elementary in Indianapolis.
Jill Barker of Anderson Preparatory Academy in Anderson.
Kristen Bilkey of Northwestern High School in Kokomo.
Jeffrey Brooks of Hebron Middle School in Hebron.
Craig Buckler of Central Elementary School in Beech Grove.
Brook (Wessel) Burke of Acton Elementary in Indianapolis.
Jason Cary of Peru High School in Peru.
Shannon Cauble of Mayflower Mill Elementary School in Lafayette.
Jono Connor of Tecumseh-Harrison Elementary in Vincennes.
Sherri Cripe of Morocco Elementary in Morocco.
Rick Davis of Western High School in Russiaville.
Greg Dettinger of Concord High School in New Carlisle.
Chad Dodd of Jay County High School in Portland.
Veronica Eskew of East Chicago Urban Enterprise Academy of East Chicago.
Sean Galiher of Schmucker Middle School in Mishawaka.
Darcie Goodin of New Washington Elementary in New Washington.
Johnny Goodlow of Hammond High School in Hammond.
Rasheeda Green of Aspire Charter Academy in Gary.
Pamala Griffin Stonybrook Middle School in Indianapolis.
Darren Haas of Southeast Fountain Elementary of Veedersburg.
Robert Hadley of Rushville Consolidated High School in Rushville.
Brian Hagan of Tri-County Primary in Remington.
Andrew Harsha of Belzer Middle School in Indianapolis.
Holly Herrera of Central Middle School in Kokomo.
Jeff Hettinger of Frontier Jr. Sr. High School in Chalmers.
Mike Holland of Warren Central Elementary in West Lebanon.
Kathy Hoover of Elwood Haynes Elementary School in Kokomo.
Glen Hopkins of Stinesville Elementary School in Stinesville.
Randall Horka of River Forest High School in Hobart.
Steven Kavanaugh of North Posey Junior High School in Poseyville.
Trael Kelly of Pleasant Grove Elementary School in Greenwood.
Kevin Kemper of Indian Creek Elementary in Indianapolis.
Monty Kirk of North Central High School in Farmersburg.
Staci Knigga of Central Elementary in Lawrenceburg.
Travis Koomler of Raymond Park Intermediate Academy in Indianapolis.
Renee Lakes of Western Wayne Elementary in Cambridge City.
Jennifer Lee of Edgewood Intermediate School in Ellettsvile.
Dena Lengacher of Barr-Reeve Primary/Barr-Reeve Elementary in Montgomery.
Douglas Lewis of Eastern Greene High School in Bloomfield.
Rob Martin of Swayzee Elementary in Swayzee.
Patrick McCann of Prince Chapman Academy in Fort Wayne.
Laura Morris of Corden Porter Education Center in Jeffersonville.
Jeff Murphy of Thompson Crossing Elementary School in Indianapolis.
Krista Nelson of Newby Memorial Elementary School in Mooresville.
Tina Noe of Danville South Elementary in Danville.
Grant Peters of Greensburg Community High School in Greensburg.
Lynn Peters of Model Elementary School in Goshen.
Renita Peters of New Haven Primary School in New Haven.
Erin Probus of Hornet Park Elementary School in Beech Grove.
David Retherford of Elwood Jr. Sr. High School in Elwood.
Matt Ridenour of Meredith Nicholson Elementary in Crawfordsville.
Angela Ruiz of Clinton Central Elementary School in Michigantown.
Destiny Rutzel of South Ripley Junior High School in Versailles.
Lance Schnaus of Grassy Creek Elementary in Indianapolis.
Amy Sivley of Lakeview Middle School in Warsaw.
Carol Starlin of Hose Elementary in Crawfordsville.
Sarita Ann Stevens of Thea Bowman Leadership Academy in Gary.
Jennifer Stolarz of Jerry Ross Elementary School in Crown Point.
Bobby Thompson of Triton Central Middle School in Fairland.
Tammy Tickfer of Lafayette Park International Elementary School in Kokomo.
Noah Velthouse of Princeton Community Middle School in Princeton.
Jill Vlcan of Poston Road Elementary in Martinsville.
Amber Walters of Nora Elementary School in Indianapolis.
Marsha Webster of Danville Community Middle School in Danville.
Daryl Werner of Jac-Cen-Del Jr. Sr. High School in Osgood.
Donna Wiktorowski of South Whitley Elementary School in South Whitley.
Kenneth (Jay) Wildman of North Elementary School in Washington.
Cynthia Wise of Lake Street Elementary School in Crown Point.
Christy Wrightsman of Van Buren Elementary School in Nashville.

To learn more about the Indiana Principal Leadership Institute, go to


Media contact: Libby Roerig, director of communications, Office of Communications and Marketing, Indiana State University, 812-237-3790 or