Indiana State University Newsroom

ISU a finalist in competition to find higher education’s most innovative climate leaders

February 1, 2013

Indiana State University today announced that it is a finalist in the Second Nature 2013 Climate Leadership Awards, an annual competition among US colleges and universities that are signatories of the American College and University Presidents' Climate Commitment (ACUPCC).

"Through the Institute for Community Sustainability, Indiana State is making great strides in becoming a more sustainable campus. Congratulations to everyone who has worked on the many initiatives that have earned this finalist recognition," said Daniel Bradley, ISU president.

The awards program is sponsored by Second Nature, a national nonprofit that seeks to create a sustainable society by transforming higher education, and PlanetForward, a media company that publishes news, opinion and insight about energy, climate and sustainability.

"If the destabilizing economic, political, and environmental events and natural disasters of the last two to three years have told us anything, it is that business as usual will not work," said David Hales, president of Second Nature. "We need new and better ways of meeting human needs, and this year's finalists are leading the way in creating - and teaching - sustainable solutions to the major economic and social issues of our time."

This year, the award program's fourth, drew the largest and most competitive pool of nominations to date. Second Nature will partner with PlanetForward, a web-to-television initiative that documents and shares energy, climate, and sustainability advances, on a public voting competition featuring the Finalists' climate leadership and campus innovations during Earth Month (April 2013).

"The caliber of this year's nominations is unparalleled," said ACUPCC Director Ashka Naik. "The depth and breadth of climate leadership and sustainability education programs demonstrated by these finalists is a reflection of their deep commitment to truly innovative solutions for a sustainable future."

Awards Timeline

The awards will feature a public, online voting component. Each of the 20 finalists will produce a video that promotes its specific sustainability efforts. Voting will be open during Earth Month, April 2013. Last year's voting competition drew over 70,000 video views and 14,000 votes.

In late spring, award winners will be chosen, independent of the video voting competition, by members of the Second Nature Board not affiliated with ACUPCC signatory schools.

More information on the awards is at

Full List of FinalistsThe following colleges and universities, listed according to their respective Carnegie Classifications, are the 2013 finalists:

Associate/Tribal College

Bellevue College (WA)

Glendale Community College (AZ)

Saint Louis Community College (MS)

University of Hawaii Kauai Community College (HI)


Baccalaureate College

Carleton College (MN)

Hobart & William Smith (NY)

Middlebury College (VT)

Oberlin College (OH)


Master's Colleges & University

American Public University System (WV)

Chatham University (PA)

Goddard College (VT)

Western State Colorado University (CO)


Doctorate Granting University

Georgia Institute of Technology (GA)

Indiana State University (IN)

Missouri University of Science & Technology (MS)

Portland State University (OR)

State University of New York College of Environmental Science and Forestry (NY)


Special Focus Institutions / Other

Massachusetts Maritime Academy (MA)

Pratt Institute of Art & Design (NY)

University of Massachusetts Medical School (MA)


ISU Contact:Caroline Savage Ph: 812-237-4293

Second Nature Contact: Rima Mulla 617-722-0036 ext. 220