Indiana State University Newsroom

Equality Day program celebrates female faculty

August 31, 2011

Indiana State University recognized the accomplishments of female faculty members during the annual Equality Day celebration Monday.

The event, which took place at Cunningham Memorial Library, also celebrated the adoption of the 19th amendment to the U.S. Constitution, which granted women the right to vote. Female faculty members were recognized for promotion, retirement and the attainment of ISU leadership awards.

In its fourth year, the selection committee of the Charlotte Zietlow Endowment also announced the recipients of the Charlotte Zietlow Women Faculty Research Grants.

Zietlow, a member of the ISU Board of Trustees from 1989-2005, established the grant as part of an endowment exclusively to support pre-tenure women faculty in their work to achieve tenure.

Having experienced gender discrimination in her own career, Zietlow said she found encouragement in the female faculty's research.

"These things are not only interesting scholastically, but they also will have an impact on the society, and I think that's a wonderful combination," Zietlow said, "I'm really proud to see that."

In her message to the audience, she wished all the women faculty well, saying, "I hope to see you thrive, get tenure and live happily ever after, at least."

This year's recipients of Zietlow Research Grants and their research topics are:

• Tonya Balch, communication disorders and counseling, school and educational psychology, "Next Steps toward Intercultural Competence."
• Linda Luebke, music, "Elementary Music Education in the Field: The Impact of Improvement Status on Specialist Teaching."
• Robyn Osborn, health, safety, and environmental health science, "Parenting Self-Efficacy and its Influence on Childhood Obesity."
• Bridget Roberts-Pittman, communication disorders and counseling, school and educational psychology, "Overlap between Traditional Bullying and Cyberbullying in College Students."
• Jacqueline Shin, psychology, "Cognitive and Brain Processes underlying Skill Learning in Elderly People and Patients with Neurodegenerative Diseases."
• Cha Nam Shin, baccalaureate nursing, "Barriers for Culturally Diverse Students in Clinical Nursing Courses."

The Mary Elizabeth Owens Dailey award, otherwise known as "The Bessie," was also awarded to Elizabeth "Libby" Smit, a senior in the women's studies program. Smit received a monetary award, as well as a copy of the book "Justice Off-Balance" by Louis E. Dailey.

Contact: Ann Rider, associate professor of women's studies, Indiana State University, at 812-237-2361 or

Writer: Mallory Metheny, media relations assistant, Office of Communications and Marketing, Indiana State University, at 812-237-3773