Seven named to 10th class of Rural Health Scholars

July 3 2007

TERRE HAUTE, Ind. -- Seven Indiana students will receive full-tuition waivers from Indiana State University as part of their acceptance into the Rural Health Program, a collaborative effort between Indiana State and the Indiana University School of Medicine.

The Rural Health Program is designed specifically to prepare students from rural Indiana to return to their hometowns, or a similar town, as a primary care physician. Indiana State and the IU School of Medicine developed this unique program to assist rural communities gain better access to healthcare. The program allows students to work alongside rural physicians, participate in summer internships at rural clinics, take part in a health seminar series, conduct research as an undergraduate and gain patient experience during third-and fourth-year internships with rural hospitals or clinic. Rural health scholars are also enrolled in the University Honors Program.

Admission into the program is limited to 10 Indiana residents from rural communities per year. Students must achieve a high school cumulative grade point average of 3.5 on a 4.0 scale, achieve a minimum combined score of 1200 on the Critical Reading and Mathematics sections of the SAT or 27 on the ACT, and reside in rural Indiana. Candidates considered for the program will complete a required interview. Matriculation to Indiana University School of Medicine requires students to successfully complete the undergraduate program at Indiana State with a minimum cumulative grade point average of a 3.5 and achieve a score on the MCAT equal to the mean score of the previous year’s entering class.

This year’s Rural Health scholars include (see background on each recipient below): Angela Borchelt, Trafalgar; Joshua Brown, Seymour; Cullen Cochran, Spencer; Anna Coffey, LaPorte; Nicole Eckstein, Mooresville; Christopher Hauger, Sullivan; and Kendall Seward, Marshall.

Since the program's inception in 1997, those students who have been named Rural Health Scholars have distinguished themselves in unique and successful ways at Indiana State, at medical schools across the country, and in their subsequent careers.


Angela Borchelt, daughter of Robert D. Borchelt and Elizabeth Hoegeman, is a graduate of Indian Creek Senior High School. Interested in a career in medicine since fourth grade, she wants to become a rural health physician because it combines science with humanitarian concerns. During high school, Borchelt has been involved in numerous drama and musical productions and ensembles, the International Thespian Society, Japanese Club, National Honor Society, numerous activities at St. Rose of Lima Catholic Church and was a delegate to the 2006 National Youth Leadership Forum on Medicine. She also plays multiple musical instruments.

Joshua Brown, the son of Teresa and Kyle Brown of Seymour, is a graduate of Seymour High School. A pre-medicine major who has dreamed of being a doctor since the age of five, he hopes to set up a medical practice in Jackson County. During high school, Brown has been involved in the National Honor Society, Business Professionals of America, Spanish Club, Sports Medicine Club, youth group at Seymour Christian Church, and a four-year member of the wrestling and football teams. He has been active in his community and abroad, working at a local food pantry and helping local children. In 2006, he traveled to the Dominican Republic on a church mission trip and assisted in a medical clinic.

Cullen Cochran, the son of Kay and Charles Cochran, is a graduate of Owen Valley High School. He plans to major in biology at ISU and continuing his education at the Indiana University School of Medicine in preparation of setting up a practice in Owen County. During high school, Cochran was a member of the Student Athletic Advisory Board, National Honor Society, a four-year member of Student Council, a member of the track team in his sophomore year and a four-year member of Owen Valley’s football and basketball teams. He also volunteers at the Owen Valley Family YMCA, assisting with Healthy Kids Day and Bowl for Kids Sake. During high school, Cochran completed an internship with Matthew Reeck, MD, at the Dermatology Center of Southern Indiana.

Anna Coffey, the daughter of Phillip and Margaret S. Coffey of LaPorte, is a graduate of Indiana Academy for Science, Mathematics and Humanities. She hopes to specialize in pediatrics or family medicine because of her experience working with elementary aged children at summer camp. Coffey has participated in Spell Bowl, band, swimming, track, and served as football manager. She has been a student ambassador and peer tutor in addition to serving on the prom and Academy Awards committees. Her honors and awards include being listed in Who’s Who Among American High School Students, named to the principal’s high honor roll and a USAA All-American Scholar.

Nicole Eckstein, the daughter of Joe and Jen Eckstein, graduated from Mooresville High School and plans to major in chemistry and minor in biology while at ISU. She would like to become an anesthesiologist after graduating from the IU School of Medicine. In high school, she has participated in National Honor Society and PUSH (Prevention Using Student Help), an organization that educates about the dangers of drugs and alcohol. She has also been active in her community, providing free tutoring, volunteering at a local nursing home and assisting with a local church mission organization.

Christopher Hauger, is the son of Kurtis and Suzanne Hauger of Sullivan and a graduate from Sullivan High School. He hopes to become a physician specializing in internal medicine, family practice, surgery or anesthesia. While at Sullivan High School, he was a four-year member of the varsity soccer team, and active in the National Honor Society, Beta Club, Knowledge Master, Science Olympiad and Chess Club. He also volunteered as a youth soccer coach and participated in Relay for Life. He was a delegate to Hoosier Boys State and Senator Richard Lugar’s Symposium for Tomorrow’s Leaders.

Kendall Seward, is the daughter of Kelli and Dan Seward of Marshall and a graduate of Turkey Run High School. Encouraged by her family physician, Dan Dwyer, M.D., Seward would like to attend ISU in preparation for admittance to the IU School of Medicine. She hopes to come back to the area as a cardiologist. She has been active in Science Club, band, Fellowship of Christian Athletes, 4-H, Tribe, Foreign Language Club, Drama Club, Youth Diversity Initiative and National Honor Society. She was also a member of the school’s volleyball and softball teams.

Deadline for admission for the next class of Rural Health Scholars is Feb. 1, 2008. For an application or more information, contact Holly Hobaugh, pre-professional advisor, at (812) 237-8633.


CONTACT: Holly Hobaugh, pre-professional advisor, (812) 237-8633

WRITER: Paula Meyer, ISU Communications & Marketing, (812) 237-3783 or

Bookmark and Share

Story Highlights

Seven Indiana students will receive full-tuition waivers from Indiana State University as part of their acceptance into the Rural Health Program, a collaborative effort between Indiana State and the Indiana University School of Medicine.

Bookmark and Share