Indiana State University Newsroom

ISU Today

University Symphony concert to feature competition winners

November 14, 2013

Event Details

December 31, 1969

Starts at:

Ends at:



The Indiana State University Symphony Orchestra will feature two winners of the School of Music's annual Paul W. Hagan Concerto/Aria Auditions at its fall concert on Thursday, Nov. 14, at 7:30 p.m. in Tilson Auditorium.

"Orchestral Suite in C Major" by J. S. Bach will begin the program. The orchestra's strings will be joined by two oboes and a bassoon for this masterpiece, one of four such works that Bach wrote for orchestra. Elizabeth Ornduff, senior music education major from Terre Haute, will then join the orchestra as soloist in "Poem for Flute and Orchestra" by American composer Charles Griffes. A piano concerto will follow, featuring soloist Logan Lundstrom, a senior piano performance major from Terre Haute. "Hary Janos Suite" by Hungarian composer Zoltan Kodaly will end the program.

The concert is free and open to the public. For further information, call X2771.



<< ISU Today | Top