Scholarships and Awards


Michael D. Buzash-Le Cercle Français Scholarship:
Chosen by the French faculty, the award, in the name of former ISU language faculty Michael D. Buzash, is given to a student who is majoring or minoring in French, who has completed at least one year of French at Indiana State and has attained the minimum GPA of 3.6 or equivalent in French and a minimum of 3.5 at Indiana State and represents high quality work in French and outside the department. To be considered for this award, please complete an application form found here; applications are due February 1st.

Martha Royse French Prize:
Chosen by the French faculty and given to a student for excellence in first-year French.

Karen Graesch Lukens Scholarship in French:
Selected by the French faculty for recognition of excellence in French studies. Recipient must be studying French and pursuing a major in the Department of Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics.


Julie Bevilacqua Cutter Memorial Scholarship:
Awarded to a foreign born, full-time [undergraduate or graduate] student majoring or minoring in language education and who has demonstrated academic excellence. To be considered for this award, please complete an application form found here, applications are due February 1st.

Outstanding Undergraduate Graduating Senior:
Selected by the LLL faculty each year for recognition by the College of Arts and Sciences as the Department's outstanding undergraduate student from among its graduating seniors.

Mary Olga Peters Award:
Established in honor of Mary Olg Peters, who served on the ISU faculty for 34 years and was chairperson of the LLL department for nine years (1954-63).The department-wide award is presented to a student majoring in the department who holds membership in Phi Sigma Iota, plans to teach in a language, and demonstrates qualities of leadership and good character.

Most Recent Recipients

Karen Graesch Lukens Scholarship in French: Sally Wallenstein

Michael D. Buzash-Le Cercle Francais Scholarship: Natasia San Cartier 

Martha Royse French Prize: Ibrahim Al-Buainain