skip to main content
Indiana State University University Faculty Senate
Approved September 20, 2005.
September 13, Minutes

Indiana State University
Faculty Senate 2005-06



Time:            3:15 p.m.  

Place:          Hulman Memorial Student Union 227

Present:       Chairperson S. Lamb, Vice Chair V. Sheets

                    V. Anderson, B. Evans, B. Frank, C. Hoffman, J. Hughes, S. Shure

Ex-Officio:     Provost Maynard

Guests:        R. Toomey



I.  Administrative Report

            Provost Maynard addressed:

1) the Enrollment Management Taskforce met for the first time yesterday; good advice is anticipated with across campus perspective—eighteen members; the taskforce has been divided into two subcommittees; focus of these subcommittees will be scholarship and recruitment strategies; a report from the subcommittees is expected in two weeks; these reports will influence decisions for resource allocations; the larger group focus will be retention; to offset duplication of effort the Taskforce will work closely with the Foundations of Excellence group; attendance reports will be considered for better application of data;

2) Notebook Initiative: a press release of last Friday states that the University is to become a notebook institution; this is the culmination of work last spring with the Faculty Senate and the summer work with the Student Government Association; recommendations received last year during the Implementation Committee’s feasibility study will be considered; required for all undergraduate students Fall 2007 and an option for Fall 2006; faculty mentors may be an option;

3) a letter informing the Executive Committee that the evaluation of the College of Technology Dean has been completed was distributed; this was an in-house evaluation by a large committee with one external member; College of Business Dean Green is scheduled to be evaluated during this academic year;

4) President Benjamin will be attending an economic summit in Morocco next week.


II. Chair Report

Chairperson Lamb report:

The President’s Enrollment Taskforce met yesterday. I was pleased with the quality of the meeting.  The Taskforce was subdivided into two subcommittees addressing enrollment issues. I am pleased that Provost Maynard asked me to designate two other faculty members to serve on the two subcommittees of the Taskforce. The subcommittees are:


1) Subcommittee on Recruitment: Jeff Harper has been asked to serve on the recruitment subcommittee, chaired by Richard Toomey; perhaps an occasional update as to the progress of this committee can be given by Jeff to the Faculty Senate as well. He will give us strong representation.




                                                                                                                         EC#4, 9/13/05

                                                                                                                                    Page 2



2) Scholarship subcommittee: Arthur Halpern has been asked to serve on the Scholarship Committee chaired by Becky Libler. He will give us strong representation as well. 


3) Subcommittee on Retention: Chair will be Bob Guell.  This ‘third’ subcommittee was short-lived as its functions were folded into the functions of the ‘Steering Committee of the Taskforce on the First Year Experience’, also chaired by Bob Guell. In that manner duplication of committee work and roles will be avoided. Since the Steering Committee already has three faculty that the Executive Committee officers selected (Virgil Sheets, Mary Howard-Hamilton, and Debra Worley), we will have strong representation on that committee. It will involve at least two (and often three) meetings per week for the rest of the academic year.  Perhaps an occasional update as to the progress of that committee can be given by Virgil to the Faculty Senate.  I was invited to be a member of that committee. I will not be attending regularly.


Provost Maynard and Vice President Tom Ramey are serving as the co-operational chairs of the President’s Enrollment Taskforce.


Again, I will be seeking ways to keep the Faculty Senate apprised, and the standing committees involved in all matters of enrollment issues.


As a post script--I have been made aware of a registration difficulty that needs correction—our present computer system allows students to enroll in concurrent classes and then drop the prerequisite class without consequence.”


III. Fifteen Minute Open Discussion

            1) Concern that two recent negative editorials on the Notebook Initiative would affect enrollments--the intent is to counteract with dissemination of positive information on the Notebook Initiative and a Frequently Asked Questions pamphlet.

            2) Process for automatic rollover of incompletes is still under work.

            3) Misunderstanding on responsibility for press release of the Notebook Initiative contributed to newspaper releasing information to the public before release to the campus community.

            4) Work continues on adjustments for graduate matriculation fees.

            5) Difficulties within departments as the result of modification to the deadline for promotion and tenure materials were expressed.

            6) Concern that during a time of budget restrictions, by appearance, peripherals may be more important than the academic mission—recent news that a new baseball coach had been hired.


IV. Approval of the Minutes

            Minutes of the September 6, 2005 meeting were approved as modified. (V. Anderson, Frank 7-0-1)


V.  Enrollment/Budget Implications

            Director of Admissions Richard Toomey gave an insightful presentation.  Highlights: Current Situation, Present Staff, Recruitment Assignments and Strategies for Fall 2005, Directed Campaigns, What Worked and Didn’t Work, Future Alternatives.


VI. Old Business

Faculty Dismissal Hearing Committee

            Diversity of the Committee discussed.


                                                                                                                          EC#4, 9/13/05

                                                                                                                                    Page 3



Athletics Committee

            College of Business nominations made for a one-year replacement term on the University Athletics Committee: J. Harper, C. De Paolo, and W. Warfel. Approved. (Hoffman, Hughes 7-0-1)


VII. Executive Session

            Moved into executive session.  (Hoffman, Sheets 7-0-1)

            Moved out of executive session.  (Sheets, Frank 7-0-1)


            Approved a motion to send the recommendation to the Provost.

(Frank, V. Anderson 7-0-1)


The meeting adjourned at 5:40p.m.