skip to main content
Indiana State University University Faculty Senate

August 26, Minutes
Approved September 9, 2003
 EC #2

Indiana State University
Faculty Senate
Executive Committee

Time: 3:15 p.m.

Place: Hulman Memorial Student Union 227

Present: Chairperson H. Hudson, Secretary Sr. A. Anderson
S. Davis, J. Harper, N. Lawrence, R. Schneirov, V. Sheets, J. Tenerelli

Ex-Officio: R. Antonak

I. Administrative Report

No report.

II. Chair Report

Chairperson Hudson:

1) Reported that Dr. J. Maynard had accepted the position of interim Provost.

2) Reminded the committee of the President’s Fall welcome address on August 27 at
4:00 pm, in Tirey Hall, followed by a reception.

III. Fifteen Minute Open Discussion

1) A request was made for statistics on the percentage of faculty who were eligible and applied for sabbatical over the last 3 years.

2) An update of student enrollment was requested. Dr. Libler was cited as the person to contact for most recent figures.

3) The action plan for Academic Affairs was requested.

4) An inquiry as to the status of the implementation of the Special Needs/Purpose Faculty proposal.

IV. Approval of the Minutes

Minutes of the August 19 meeting were approved. (Davis, Lawrence 7-0-1)

V. Charges to Standing Committees

The Committee worked on standing committee charges. Work on charges will be continued at the next scheduled meeting.

VI. Old Business

Standing Committee membership was amended. (Harper, Davis 4-2-2)

VII. New Business

Joe Huber and Bill Warfel were nominated for service on the Faculty Dismissal Hearing Committee. (Lawrence, Harper 7-0-1)
EC#2, 8/26/03
Page 2

VIII. Committee Actions

1) Seating of first Arts and Sciences’ alternate following Handbook procedure. (Tenerelli, Anderson 5-0-3)

2) Moved into executive session. (Harper, Sheets 7-0-1)

Moved out of executive session. (Tenerelli, Anderson 6-0-1)

Motion to recommend tenure and forward the recommendation to Academic Affairs. (Harper, Lawrence 5-0-2)

 The meeting adjourned at 5:55 p.m.